Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 p.m. - 2004-02-04
Meditations
There was an article about an interesting study carried out at the University of California at Los Angeles by Dr. Allan Smith that linked the likelihood of developing certain diseases with one's date of birth - fancy that. There is a listing on ABC's website if you want to see the results health. It is supported by other longitudinal studies completed earlier notably those in Sweden. Or talk to a knowledgable astrologer. Those patterns have been studied and documented for centuries in almost every system - European, Arabic, Vedic, Chinese - developed to track celestial influences on human growth and development.

I found this Taoist meditation in the most recent issue of Synchronicity magazine. This is a publication that has been produced locally for well over a decade and it is one of my favorite magazines. I thought I'd share the meditation with you, dear diary, because I found it really helpful. Synchronicity

Close your eyes and you will see clearly.

Cease to listen and you will hear truth.

Be silent and your heart will sing.

Seek no contacts and you will find union.

Be still and you will move forward on the tide of the spirit.

Be gentle and you will need no strength.

Be patient and you will achieve all things.

Be humble and you will remain entire.

From the "Book of Peace. Meditations from Around the World" by Claire Nahman Eddsison Sadd Editions ISBN 1-58290-066-3.

It stilled this worrying mind. The usual - where is the money going to come from to pay the bills. Why isn't the any progress in what I am working on, why is there so little support from others who benefit the most from the work I do (employers etc). The message seemed to be that I would find the Way - it is there - if I slow down and trust my instincts. We'll see.

Talked with a couple of my staff today. Two of us were sitting at our computers checking out the resources and facilities at the hotel we'll be staying at in Ottawa. I really need coffe available in my room thank you very much and I like to have my own iron and board. A refrigerator can be supplied and there are facilities for full computer access - if you bring a laptop. I wish I had one to bring because I would like to document my days there as they happen. However, that little luxury isn't going to be a line item in my budget any time soon. Back to the meditation. Om mane padme hum. It's Chogyam Trungpa's birthday today too - so I'm going to try and recall what I learned from his teachings. I found his books as I was going through one of the most challenging times I experienced this lifetime. I need to draw from that wisdom again now I think.

Anyway time for bed dear diary - once the cats have their cuddles, poor Mr T especially, and we read out loud. Good Night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats