Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 a.m. - 2004-01-28
Birthday
It was my birthday today dear diary. By noon, I had heard from my Dad and most of my sibs as well as from my friends. Some by phone and some by e-mail. It doesn't matter which way someone chooses to communicate with me, as long as they do. The "personal" part is in the thoughts they hold, not the medium of expression - that's just the vehicle.

My youngest and number four son had organized a gathering of all my sons - and some of their ladies - as well as my grandbabies for the evening. The grandbabies pulled out all our Harry Potter books - that's their favorite bedtime read right now. The next book - "The Prisoner of Azkaban" - is due out in movie form on June 4. Maybe we'll make that a family affair too. The evening was a lot of fun too, although I'm not used to the noise or the crowding that comes with it anymore. Early in the day, when I realized what the plans were, I had asked my youngest to call each brother to ask them not to come tonight. With the wind chill the temperature was somewhere between -47 to -50 F/C and the roads were treacherous. Busses and cars are just not reliable under those conditions - try frozen solid. However, none of the family would stay home and I did enjoy myself.

The only shadow on the day happened in the late afternoon. Turns out Miss Kitty had injured her leg a little more than we'd realized the last time she slipped out doors. She wouldn't let my youngest cuddle her and even hissed at him when he tried to find out what was wrong. However, she did climb up on my bed and laid down next to me. I was able to see what the problem was - a good size cut with some infection on the back right "knee" joint. She laid on her back, paws tucked up, while I bathed the wound with hydrogen peroxide. Finally fell into a sleep - in that blissed out pose - and seemed a lot easier after. We'll see - my youngest was quite distressed and worried - moreso than Miss Kitty herself. Hopefully, I've managed to settle both of their problems for the time being.

During the celebrations the kittens made themselves scarce - just too much activity even for them. They were happy to listen to story time tonight quietly but now they are hungry and just want to eat and have their naps. Guess I'd better tuck them and my young men into bed then head that way myself. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats