Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:47 p.m. - 2004-01-23
Cats
Why do they say that the fog comes in on little cat feet? It came mid-day today heralding a slide back into the deep freeze. In the 50's F/10+ C for a couple of weeks then - 20s C/ -15 F for the next couple of weeks. Cats - other than cougars and such - aren't that brutal when they sneak up on you. Although come to think of it, when I was doing yoga this evening, two of the darlings thought they would assist with some of the stretches - think of downward facing dog and moving through to different warrior poses with a couple of felines sitting on one's back. Finally shook them off when I was moving into cat pose. HMMMMMMM.

Remember, dear diary when I was writing about Bell's Theorem as a possible quantum mechanical explanation for phenomenon such as ESP? Well, I received this from one of my e-zines today about an application that has been developed using the properties of "entanglement" to enhance GPS tracking. Spooky_Clocks. I knew they'd figure it out sooner or later.

There is a lot of activity on the live performance scene right now. Sometimes there isn't really anyone I want to see but now it seems each performer would be great to have a chance to hear. Let's see: David Bowie, Sting, Nickelback, Natalie McMaster, Tom Jones, Metallica, George Strait, Rod Stewart, and The Barenaked Ladies for starters. On the other hand "Puppetry of the Penis" is just a little more than I care to deal with. 12 years of changing little boys' diapers, and even more years of adolescent male "humour" leave me pretty jaded where that's concerned.

In a nice segue, there is a big art controversy blowing up in the community - the old obscenity thing. One of the major skyscraper owners downtown had committed to ensuring that it would be visible feast replete with fine art work. The latest addition is a statue. There are two naked men standing back to back, holding rocks in their hands. Being an oil town, the artists determined that the modern Janus-theme (looking back into the past and forward into the future simultaneously) would best be represented using nude palaeontologists. Who'd a thunk. A least it was unveiled - in more ways than one - in the correct month - January. Happy New Year everyone! Frankly, I think a rendition of Michelangelo's David might be nice too.

Most interesting pieces in my e-zines today had to do with corruption in the corporate world NigeriaHalliburton and with respect to toxic waste being kept near US communities ChemicalDumps. Well maybe interesting isn't the best word for it, however I've seen some of one of the stories through the work I do and the other is also a major problem in this province - remember my comments yesterday dear diary?

Any way time to go, speaking of air pollution. The cats litter boxes have been cleaned and it's time to brave the cold to get the stuff out of here.

Goodnight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats