Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:44 p.m. - 2004-01-21
New Moon Report
The good thing about this week, so far, is that there is still daylight at the end of the work day. Doesn't seem like much does it, until one realizes that the last time we had that benefit was nearly three months ago. In terms of psychological health, it has a huge impact on people's frame of mind - the light at the end of the tunnel. We won't see daylight in the morning for at least another three weeks, but at least the darkest part of the year is over.

Monday was a very long day. Last day at the contract, scrambling to get all the loose ends tied up. A little teary at one point, but I was working away in the stacks at the time. No one could see me there. At the end of the day, R came by to review what was left to complete. Mostly it's the 100+ files sitting on my desk requiring technical analysis - the material I found as I was inventorying the one collection last week. While I was there, there were 500 to 600 new records created in addition to some 700 existing records. Double or nothing. When the analysis of the remaining material is complete - if it is undertaken - that will go up again. R said she thought she'd be calling me back to do that - a couple of days? - but it all depends whether one of the departments using the material is willing to pay for me to do it. Like as not it'll be another year, just like the last contract there, before I'm called back. A lot can happen in a year. At least this time it was acknowledged that the work I did was important to the functioning of the company. That, I guess, is progress.

Left a few minutes early, after our talk so I could rush home. It was number 5 son's birthday and the party was at our house. The birthday child wanted soft tacos for the main entree, so it was off to Taco Bell after I had gotten rid of my work gear. Added in greens, chips, cheesecake, and ice cream to complete the menu. I got to meet number 5's newest girlfriend and she seemed really nice. She rewarded me with a hug when she was leaving. I guess that means I passed muster, hmmmmmm?

Tuesday was me and the mouse meditating together. Our boy cat, Trinity, sat on top of the monitor patting my face with his paws as I read. A lot of really interesting articles in my e-zines. Workinggirl was a composite profile of a large component of the US workforce. Very thought provoking. The next article seemed to go on to predict the future of the people discussed in the first article Housing. And the third one dealt with the root causes of that CompanyStore. This one is about a film documentary that debuted at the Sundance festival just now.

Later, a series of sychronicities cascaded into a volunteer opportunity of sorts. I was reading this article Resources, and wondering how I could pass this information on to the provincial body of parent councils in this province. This is a key contentious issue with our provincial government. The mail arrived and, lo and behold, there was a letter from their organization complete with e-mail address. They were announcing their 75th anniversary celebrations at the end of April and inviting me to attend. I e-mailed my response and the article together. Good research without trying. Last article was NoChildLeftBehind that seemed to wrap up the Tuesday Five.

Today was a day for me. I went to a workshop on security and computer networks. My goals were to learn a little bit more techese so I could communicate better with the IT and IS people as well learn what questions I should be asking or issues I should be examining to ensure I do due diligence in my contracts. Often times people get into trouble there, because they don't even know a question needs to be raised, let alone addressed. Walking into a classroom full of computer geeks was really hard since I was afraid I wouldn't be able to follow in a foreign language - computerese - but the instructor really did a good job of making his presentation understandable. The recruiter from the agency that has been calling me for the past six months was there too. Comforting presence. I even won the door prize which was a really nice denim shirt and a coffee mug filled with candy. Maybe I should have bought a lottery ticket too? Good day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats