Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:46 p.m. - 2004-01-05
New Year
Arriving at the train station this morning - what did I see? One three-vehicle car accident with two police vehicles in attendance, first up. On the station platform, a stalled train, all the lights out, but obviously jammed with passengers unable to get off sitting just down the track. An announcement came over the PA stating that problems on the far end of the south line were the cause. Uh huh. The platform was jammed with about 3 trains' worth of travellers and the temperature was in the mid - 20's C. No word when the problems might be resolved.

All factors considered, I decided to opt for plan "B". That's where I sprint back up, then down two very long sets of very steep stairs to catch the East West circle route bus. As I hit the top of the first set of stairs I heard "Hey, where are you going?" It was one of number three son's friends, who I often sit and chat with while we travel. He is a technical draftsman, so we swap stories of our adventures in the industry to pass the time. He keeps me updated on his parents' activities as well - what are friends for? I explained my plan and we continued to run for the bus together. Made it with seconds to spare and travelled to the north south connector point. That first bus pulling up to the stop at the same moment as us was packed too, but there was a second bus heading downtown right behind it. Rush hour - there are a few benefits. The other one was that route has a dedicated bus lane so the journey was qucik from that point on. Got into work about 8 minutes late - not too bad I guess and no frostbite either.

Grumpy the manager, J, was in the morning, and there was quite a bit of tension created by her attitude among everyone else in her vicinity. When my current liaison, C, first came by (she's been off for the past two weeks) her first question was - so has J, the manager, managed to get rid of the other contract yet? No, as it so happens she is in the process of being moved into an office as we speak. Not really the best way to begin the day.

The university student arrived mid-morning and we split up some of the tasks left over from our work last week. Odd questions from her too. "Every family has a least one black sheep - who among your sons is that one, or is there more than one?" What's that got to do with anything, why would anyone ask that, and no there isn't a black sheep among my sons. Some are having struggles for sure, but that's what happens when young adults start families or their own homes. More money coming in all around would help immensely. That doesn't constitute a "black sheep" designation and that's about the only challenge I think there is right now. Next oddball comment came from J. She brought by the company fax number for the machine on the other side of the building. Did I know the one I had been using as directed by R wasn't reliable and often didn't deliver. Great. So that document that I sent to Elections Canada last week, that is what my paycheque is hanging up on, didn't go through? Don't know. Went and called EC - they couldn't tell me either. At least R, my liaison from last time was quite upbeat.

I also spent some time on the phone in the morning with my supervisor, hidden away using the phone in the boardroom so we couldn't be overheard at his request, just discussing the tasks of the past three weeks. Could I do some clarification on the reports tonight? Sure, no problem - good excuse not to do my yoga tonight. The other reason being that my body was letting me know how unhappy it was with last night's session. Not that the session was difficult - my easiest and shortest tape - Ashtanga, the only thing I couldn't quite do was a full lotus because my hip said very bad words in musclese. However, I felt the effects today.

At lunch I decided retail therapy was in order. My youngest had given me a gift certificate for the local CD store so I decided to go indulge myself in the sales bin. Found Etta James - Gospel, Dinah Washington sings Bessie Smith, Ashley MacIsaac and Natalie McMaster - Canadian Celts, and a CD of Bizet's Carmen all for the value of the gift certificate. The afternoon was much better with my headphones on and the volume turned way up. Lucky for everyone else I didn't sing - was tempted though.

News tonight. Weather is going to warm up - yes! One of the developers has an empty hotel that won't be worked on until April, they've donated its use for families that are homeless in the interim. That is a good corporate citizen. Bad news - a little girl kidnapped in Toronto in October still hasn't been located. Police are now taking DNA samples from everyone in a high rise where her mom tutored. Odd thing is that I had a dream about two months ago where I saw the little girl hidden in a bamboo like chest that seemed to be used as a coffee table. There was a couple who were holding her - the woman had shoulder length black hair . They kept the little girl drugged and bound inside the chest most of the times. They had taken her out and her hands were contracted into claws and she was in the fetal position and very dehydrated. The two were arguing about what to do standing by a window in their apartment. The view was of a city skyline late at night and they lived very high up in the high rise they were in. It seemed that they had expected the attention to the case to dissipate a lot sooner and the woman was getting scared. They had planned to spirit her out of the country in the chest while moving home to their - and the little girl's country of origin. Ransom seemed to be the reason. I though about talking to someone about the dream when I had it, but I figured someone would call me a nut case, if they wer disposed to be kind. Maybe I should have tried anyway, maybe it was just a dream and has no basis in reality. Don't know. Anyway, just finished revising those reports my supervisor wanted and sent them off. My youngest os waiting for me to come read to him - or he wants the computer, so I guess I'd better go be a good parent, eh?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats