Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:11 p.m. - 2003-12-27
Winding Down the Year
My oldest son brough the grandbabies over today dressed in their Christmas finery. I think they're beautiful children - but then again I must admit some degree of prejudice that way. More gifts to open. One toy - the yoda light sabre didn't come with any instructions. What to do. Go to the Hasbro website. Now not only do you need to be an engineer to assemble some of the toys, you also have to be a savvy web-maven too. What next?

They brought gifts for the cats - a scratching post and a bag of mouse-like toys. Our kittens were in ecstasy. Enough so that they didn't even go hide under the bed as is their wont. Between the human babies being engaged in playing with their new toys and the feline babies distracted by theirs, territoriality wasn't an issue. In fact, the kittens saw many opportunities to enhance their dining pleasure at the expense of the grandbabies, who have had enough food the past few days to fuel even their very high energy levels for a while. Speaking of which I think I've finally got my diet back on track. I think that sugar/starch migraine Christmas evening was the final incentive necessary. Yogurt and plain fare for this girl for the next while, thank you very much.

My second in command for the election coming up came by after lunch and we spent a few hours travelling the north half of the constituency, just checking for new growth. We found two new buildings that can act as polling stations in some of my most difficult areas. One is a school that didn't even have a hole in the ground last time I was by the site a few months back. It is complete on the outside and it appears the insides are about halfway done. A new library is being constructed a few blocks down and I believe a recreation center is due there too. Might even manage to accommodate everyone if everything goes well. The Northeast corner is still a problem - still no public buildings but there is an old community hall that might be useable so we'll see.

We stopped for coffee about three quarters of the way through the trip just chatted casually about his experiences. People can amaze you sometimes with what they've seen. I asked him about his travels in the world. Not only has he worked up north in the same areas as my Dad. Two years in Japan with the US army as an Officer running a training facility during the rebuilding of that country - 1951 to 1953. Interesting observations about the dynamics there. A couple of years in Iran in the '70's working for an oil company. A lot of discussion of world events and the conditions that have contributed to them over time. Discussion about terrorists and their operations too. Speculation probably, but each of us has seen glimpses of it in our daily activities over a long stretch of time. They don't operate in a vacuum, choices made on this continent aid and abet them greatly at times.

Back home and the boys and babies still running on all cylinders. Supper made, laundry completed and Star Wars scenes acted out to everyone's satisfaction. The extended version of "The Two Towers" playing in the background. Lots of noise and movement. However, now everything is picked up a put back into place and both cats and boys are resting comfortably. I'm going to go finish my boxing day crossword puzzle - courtesy of our local paper and climb stairs. Back to the real world soon.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats