Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:50 p.m. - 2003-12-14
Weekend Work
Tasks today, dear diary, covered a wide range of skills. Assembled, with my youngest's help, one cheesecake for work tomorrow. My liaison from a year ago is collecting baking for a donation to a group home for the mentally and physically handicapped. Easy to do. Wrote my weekly report for my supervisor, that's getting more complicated as the technical analysis of the data becomes more intense. A couple of hours there. Removed stitches from number four son's finger. He was injured at work nine days ago. I couldn't find my embroidery scissors, so a regular sewing needle and an exacto knife had to fill in as surgical instruments. He hadn't kept it as clean as he should so a good sterilization of the wound was necessary too - lecture at 11. It'll be fine in a day or two, unless he catches it at work again. Sent off a registration form for my youngest's schooling and the fees to go with it. House cleaning and grocery shopping were the other major efforts.

I got my first full paycheque today, so I could buy all the baking ingredients on the list my youngest had slipped into my coat pocket a few weeks back. That added well over $100 to the bill - oh well. I also found a centerpiece for my Dad's home for Christmas Day that was to cute to resist. It's the real St. Nicholas in a birchbark canoe. Snowshoes and a small barrel holding the day's catch of fish along with the fishing gear. A sack full of berries, nuts, and herbs in place of the usual toys. Just seemed to fit somehow. Picked up supplies for work - pantyhose and new mitts for when the weather really gets cold since one of my gloves from last year is awol. Two hours out my day just dealing with that.

The cats found another mouse trying to get into the house this afternoon. Major excitement in the ranks. This critter was a little brighter than the last. It stayed out on the deck taunting the assembled felines. The door was opened just a crack so that fresh air could get in but no kittens could escape. Miss Kitty reached out a paw at one point and gave it a good swat. The creature moved on after that. You'd think the garbage bag full of used kitty litter would be enough to scare any rodent away. Guess not. The new game for the kittens is a variation on the ring the doorbell and run scenario. Instead of a doorbell though, they have learned to push the bar that turns on the vaccuum cleaner. They all run like crazy after it roars into life. Hiding until I turn it off, then starting all over again. Speaking of which I should probably go give them their night feed so that they don't become mischievious trying to ignore those pangs in their tummies. It's just like having pre-schoolers again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats