Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:16 p.m. - 2003-12-08
Break In
The cold seemed worse today because of the fog - 09 C/15 F was our high. I've come to realize the woman I saw in the alley a week or more ago actually lives there. She has what looks like a cardboard box that she line with blankets. During the day, she disappears. One would guess her age to be about 60, but it could also be that living on the street has aged her well beyond her years. There are some of the homeless here who refuse to go to the shelters at night, to them the streets are a safer haven. It is very troubling.

I'd been at work listening to a childrens' choir singing seasonal music for about half an hour when the other contract in the department popped her head around the corner. Had I heard the news? No. Apparently, there was a break in on the floor below us on Friday, sometime between 5:30 PM and 9:30 PM that evening. The manager came by later and added the detail that a crowbar had been used in the offense. Several laptop computers had been stolen. It appeared or speculation had it that the thieves knew what they wanted and where it was located. It sent my mind back to a story link I read on a friend's weblog Astrofish Dealers.

I'm not on their computer system, so I didn't see the actual announcement. Later this morning the liaison's supervisor took great pains to make a point of that exclusion. She seems to struggle to even be civil to me, even though our contact is limited to once or twice a week when she can't avoid discussing work issues with me. In some ways, it's the same situation as the other contract and the manager of the library. Both of us have been hired by the company for the work we do. The resentment of that choice is obvious, but that's something they should be taking up with their managers not downloading on to us.

The manager of the library is still trying hard to be friendly with me and I do appreciate her efforts. She is aware of my having raised six sons as a single parent and feels that is a common connection between us. Many of the women in administration or clerical support had that as the reason for their choice of work. That said, I really try to avoid talking about my spouse or what he was like during work time. I've always been lucky to have a friend or two who would allow me to vent to them - something I am deeply indebted to them for - but always only at lunch hours or after work.

When she started asking questions about the conditions and drawing parallels to her own experiences with her ex I headed for my headphones. I just want to leave it behind. My guys and I survived it, but those are memories that I would just as soon forget. Counting my blessings and moving forward is the best strategy I've found. When one hangs onto the past - good or bad - you become a prisoner of that, never able to get free. I was listening to "The Boss" Springsteen while this was going on and his song "Glory Days". Not only that, but in this industry it doesn't seem to matter what you say, in the cutthroat politics that go on every day anything you say can be twisted to something that would never cross your mind for someone else's purposes. The gender war card is heavily played and is a no -win situation. The less said the better - my motto. Besides, I also have you dear diary. Much better place to examine my thoughts.

I went to my bank at noon to clear up the problems with my account. I was a little concerned when no identification was requested from me. I'd spent a lot of time yesterday digging out the court documents that allow me to return to using my maiden name - the divorce proceedings and finding the bank documents that marked that transition. I was certain that that would be an issue. As a result it only took about ten minutes to reactivate my account. I'm not certain I'm comfortable with that although it explains why it was so easy for someone else to co-opt access to my account. I don't want to get the employee in trouble if that is their normal procedure but I think after the investigation, I might write a letter suggesting some improvements in protecting clients to their policy makers.

Got home and found my official certificate of appointment for my federal contract, an e-note from my supervisor asking how I was, and sons and kittens just happy to be safe and together tonight. Said kittens are now prowling around my ankles and over my keyboard. I think that means it's time for that late night feed and bed time Hmmmmmm?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats