Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:49 p.m. - 2003-12-02
Stats
My supervisor called this morning to discuss the stats I'd sent him the evening before. He sounded really pleased with the data, but wanted to clarify a few things and expand on some of the numbers. He said that the staff who actually need to work with the records had expressed a great deal of satisfaction with the improvements. Not surprising. Out of the stacks of paper, I've opened nearly 300 new records and filed paper about 100 inches high in existing files as well as cleaning those up, so that the correct information is in them where it should be. That means that they've got easy access to about 70% more material than they had two weeks ago. It must have been really frustrating for them to try and find things before. I don't mind doing a little extra work when my supervisor asks, because I know he's doing his best to support my work - it's even better when the clients appreciate it too.

I still feel stress there and it's not just from the personnel point of view either. No phone, no lockable space, no computer for research that needs to occur,no garbage can - even and now I've been waiting for three days for the file folders I need to have to create those new records. No resources to support the work I do and now no resources to do the work itself. I don't understand the behaviour.

My current liaison sat and listened while I was talking with my supervisor, because I had no option but to use her phone. She wasn't pleased with some of the numbers I was giving him, but they are tangible measures that anyone can verify. Later last year's liaison asked me about the legalities around some of the procedures a company must undertake with their properties. It was in an area where I've had some experience, but only for specific cases so I was careful to explain my limitations there. It was nice that she asked but curious all the same. Don't know what to make of it.

When I arrived home my youngest was planning his birthday party - the family gathering. He'd like to celebrate with his oldest brother - they're two days and twelve years apart. Both born in the Year of the Rabbit - Chinese style, one full cycle of their astrological calendar. So I guess two birthday cakes and one big dinner on Friday. Sounds like a plan.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats