Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:26 p.m. - 2003-11-30
In Sickness..........
I dreamt last night - first time I recall in a while. I was at a race track with some friends on a bright spring day, watching the horses run. We were all in wheel chairs. It seemed I had been told that the diagnosis was MS (multiple sclerosis). All of a sudden, over the public announcement system, it was reavealed that my husband - a good old Southern Gentleman doctor - had been found guilty of poisoning people, me included , with the "miracle medicine" he had been giving patients for the disorder we had developed. Water with whatever, to induce slow paralysis. Of course, where his other patients had been concerned the motive was money - his fees. For me it appeared that he wanted to have total control over me - was afraid I'd leave if I had the freedom to do so, because he thought I was too attractive to want to stay with him otherwise. Well ok. I also stood to inherit quite a sum of money and some prime property in the heart of the city - Atlanta? - when my parents finally passed on. It appeared he intended for me to join them not long after their demise by manipulating the rate of deterioration through the poisoned mixture. Woke up at that point quite disturbed.

Fell back asleep and dreamt of being in a recording studio - or something to do with producing music anyway. The kittens were there and there were a few more. One was called "Jasmine" and she was a beautiful ginger and orange kitten. It seemed she had been born with a deformity that left her back legs a bit bent and her front left paw incomplete. Nonetheless she was usually very active and truly affectionate. I loved her. One morning we went into the cats room to start out the day and found Jasmine missing. She had somehow gotten up on some of the speakers/recorders and fallen behind them. Because of her differences she couldn't pull herself out and had been stuck there for what was likely most of the night. We found her quickly because all the other cats had been clustered around the place where she fell. She was still alive but very dehydrated and weak. I picked her up , cuddled her and gave her some water. She purred and fell asleep in my arms. Woke up to real kittens meowing to be let out of their room.

I found an interesting article in the newspaper last night and I want to record the information here so I don't forget. It's about "sick building" syndrome. Where workers in a building keep getting sick because of something in the air quality of the building. There was just a report in "The Lancet" medical journal, that reported the findings of a team of scientists from McGill University in Montreal - leader of the trials was Dr. Dick Menzies. They had found though double blind tests that shining ultraviolet light on on air conditioner cooling coils and drip pans that overall sickness in the building's population by 20%, including a 40% drop in respiratory disorders like asthma. The procedure is called Ultraviolet Germicidal Irradiation. It has been tried successfully in operating rooms, pharmaceutical labs and meat packing plants, as well as in regular office buildings. The savings in costs to the health care systems and the loss of revenue from employee absenteeism is significant even after deducting the cost of installing the sterilizer units. I wonder if ther is one that could be hooked up to a satellite so that our whole city could be cleared. If not, then even one in the bus/train barns would be a major factor in reducing communicalbe diseases like colds and flu - how about in schools and daycares too. Maybe I'll write my alderman again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats