Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:11 a.m. - 2003-11-28
Week End
One of the nice things that has occurred this past contract is the number of people I've bumped into from past work and volunteer activities who I miss, while going about the business of the day. It also seems that people that I've spent a lot of time around - you know, fellow bus/train passengers - are more cheerful than I'm used to. A lot more casual chit chat that passes the time and makes you feel part of a community I guess. At lunch today, I bumped into one woman who I loved working with about seven contracts ago. She looked after the print shop of the company I was working for so she taught a lot about producing the final copies of a document - publishing. Of course the other reason I enjoyed it was that it was completely different than what I normally undertake.

The "hole punch fairy" was at it again today. I washed my desk down deliberately this morning so that I would have a clean surface to do a big sort of documents. When I returned after lunch there were two very large puddles of some sticky viscous substance - I just washed it off and went on with my work. I also seem to have come into contact with some caustic substance while I was working with the data. Just the left forefinger - the one I use for flipping through the pages as I work. I worked with burn patients for a while, so I treated it as an alkali burn and it seems to have reduced the damage.

My liaison at work mentioned another task that needed doing today and I wouldn't mind staying on for another week or so to see things through to the end. However, the sense I get from the liaison I had last time is that she doesn't want me there past the original term of the contract. Not my call, but I sent an e-mail to my supervisor letting him know what my current liaison was discussing so he wouldn't be caught off-guard. If there is an extension then he has to deal with the paperwork and if there isn't he has to deal with the paperwork. Sometimes it's nice to have the time to prepare in advance. He responded by asking for more details.

That's about all for tonight dear diary. I have a little bit more paperwork to fill out for Elections Canada and then its storytime for my youngest and the kittens - just finishing up The Hobbit - the battle of five armies. Sweet Dreams.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats