Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 a.m. - 2003-11-21
Interesting Times
Well some of the lights went on at work today. My liaison came by with her supervisor to show her some of the problems we were finding in the documents we are dealing with. A year ago, when I worked at this company, there were three people making critical and very expensive decisions about how to deal with some of the issues with the properties. It was mentioned in passing that one of them left - about a month ago. Neither of the other people are involved in this work now; they've been reassigned duties. Explains some of the coolness of some of the other staff. I didn't have any problems with them last time, but it seems that I'm being singled out as the reason for the departure of their social buddy although it was her own dishonesty in claiming she knew something she didn't that caused her release. My work may have exposed that but that wasn't my intent - I had an assignment to clean up their files and that's what I did. However, the assumption seems to be that I wanted her job - not.

I have been reassigned to this project though, I think, so that the management can get a sense of how much work there is to do and develop methods of handling the flow of data based on my comments as I proceed. The reason I think this is because my liaison's supervisor became quite aggressive with me as we were talking about what I'd found. She asked me what I proposed to do with the records, since I had forced a change to the management of the documents already against her will. Huh? All I was told was that there was some file management clean up to do - no word on it being "my project". C, my liaison, mentioned afterward that the scope of the project was being changed again and that another task I would be given would be to prepare those records that actually were correctly managed for offsite storage. She was very careful about how she phrased things but it sounds as though no one is too certain how to incorporate this data with existing property files nor what exactly needs to be in them to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements and legal responsibilities. I guess that's the other reason I've been brought back - pick my brains for ideas. I've contracted in so many companys that I can provide direction on a number of ways to accomplish their end goals - it's a company's culture and values that determine the process that will fit. So why can't someone just be upfront with that?

My supervisor came by with my contract just before lunch and he was asking very similar questions based on the two reports I'd sent him even not knowing the other factors I'd learned earlier in the day. I felt better knowing he saw the same patten emerging and I also felt some comfort from the fact he is coming to my workplace. Just a little safer for me I think.Still no phone line for me so it was difficult for him to track me down though, but at least I don't have to leave the building to make a call to him like I had to at the last downtown contract.

Got home to find another very strange voicemail left. This one from an enforcement officer from ARKANSAS. Huh? again. He was Looking for a John Callaghan who had given some gun store my phone number. Apparently the registration number had been removed from the shotgun in question and it was believed Mr Callaghan had removed it. Great - that's three times my identity has been linked to someone who is not playing nice. I was just a little spooked by it so I e-mailed our City police with the details. They may or may not want them but I want this pattern on record. I think I'm not going to have any chance other than to find out who is using my phone number.

I think the cats and my youngest son miss me. My youngest has been busy ensuring I'm looked after once I walk in the door every day. Tonight I crawled into bed after I got supper going, only to find five cats waiting for me, purring loudly - all curled up in their favorite spots. There was just enough room left for me to curl up in an amended fetal position to accommodate their positions. Badger curled up next to my face, while Pasha nestled in the small of my back once I was settled. Miss Kitty was snuggled up to my legs. It felt good to be home. Time to repeat that, now I think. Interesting day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats