Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:52 a.m. - 2003-11-15
Cats and Work
The kittens seem to be getting more affectionate by the day. Ms Cheshire Cat has always been a bit stand-offish - being Miss Kitty's favourite. Not today. When I sat down in my room at lunch, she wasn't happy until I'd curled up with her for a while. She wanted to snuggle, her head cradled in my hand, paws wrapped around my thumb.

It almost seems to be a competition now among the babies both for my and my youngest's attention. Pasha fits between my wrist and my elbow - about the size of a new born human baby. Her favourite spot to curl up on is with her head over my heart or in the crook of my arm. I'm not supposed to move until she's had her fill of cuddling either. Trinity still goes into throws of ecstasy when his tummy is rubbed and his favourite spot is under my comforter but on top of my blankets. Ms Ficus on the other hand prefers to perch on my shoulder when I'm conscious or she claims my lap when she can find me sitting or sleeping. As long as I don't move I'm fine.

Yesterday, I had a power nap just before supper so I could work late on my election assignment. I woke from a deep sleep with the phone ringing. I couldn't understand why I was having difficulty getting the receiver near my mouth, until it dawned on me that there was a kitten in the way. Ms Badger was not about to move so I could talk into the "noisemaker". I'm not certain if my boss thought the purring he heard was me - hope not. I know my voice sounded strange to him, because he apologized for calling and disturbing me even though he was giving me the good news about the job.

Interesting contest in The Arab News e-zine I get. The Saudi Arriyadh Development Authority is offering a first prize of Saudi Riyals525,000 for the best design of a home to fit a family of seven. I don't think I know enough about desert conditions or Saudi daily life to think I could compete, but the idea was interesting. Don't think I'll be entering though - the deadline is December 6.

I spent most of the day working on my assignment interspersed with calls and e-mail from different contacts in Ottawa and my liaison here in Alberta. Lots of good work and some great new ideas for working with my maps on-line - sharing my files a lot quicker with my technical partner in Canada's capital city. I'm still learning the photo editing and cropping techniques, but down the road I can see a lot of benefits with that. Maybe EC will spring for some training dollars there - other Returning Officers have been funded for computer courses so I might as well ask I guess. My field liaison wanted to talk about overseas issues. Hmmmm - wonder if there's any work for us in Egypt or Australia? More likely it's somewhere a little less stable. Or maybe she just wants to compare notes about Bosnia - we both have done work around that country. I'll see her at the end of next week I think.

Anyway time for bed - the kittens get really naughty now when they think they're not getting their due attention. It's just like having a house full of pre-schoolers again. I love it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats