Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 p.m. - 2003-11-10
Travelling Tales
I got feedback on my post about the Bryan Adams concert last night, dear diary. Odd as it sounds the choice of music or sound in a room, is one that is absolutely critical to the comfort of the people in it. When my Mom died, the family had gathered together to work out the last details for her service. None of us really cared much, since we all liked the minister who would be speaking and we knew my Mom had chosen the passages from the Bible she wanted, but when he asked us about music, all my sibs leaned forward - alert for the first time. It was apparent that this was an issue. My Dad spoke up and said that Mom had listed the songs and the artist she wanted doing them at her funeral, in her will. Music was a critical factor in her way of seeing the world too. My Dad seems to feel the same way. When one of my sib's objected to him having "When The Saints Go Marching In" in New Orleans Jazz it upset him a great deal. I found a good recording for him after a bit of a search because the band who did the version he wanted had last recorded it in the 50's. It has a great version of "Basin Street Blues" and a couple of other tracks for him to choose from if he wishes - his last party he can have what he wants. One of my friends died of a stroke a few years back. Mother's Day it was. She was at a soccer game her daughter was playing in when it happened out of the blue. Her funeral was very difficult - up until the music started playing. She had also left a list and it was easy to see her dancing away as Rod Stewart sang "Forever Young". That's how I remember her now. Anyway I asked my correspondent what they thought was really good music. Got the recommendations back tonight: Nightwish, After Forever, and Tristania. I'll have to go see if I can find them playing on the net. My guys can help me with that I think.

Funny piece in the paper today about safe travel and travel advisories. I read it because of I had just got a similar article in an e-newsletter on travel that I like and wanted more information. The e-newsletter had provided a really interesting link to the webpage of a fellow who chooses "extreme" holidays and then details the do's and don'ts he's survived to tell. ComeBackAlive. I thought this might expand on the theme a bit. Instead it spoke of what other countries tell their citizens about coming to Canada. Biggest trouble icy roads (well yes in winter) and loose moose. moose2002 Hmmm well ok. First you'd have to find one - they do live mostly in the bush - and they're rather shy except at mating season. The males'll avoid you unless they think you're between them and their beloved or if you are their chosen one. If so in either case - my condolences. Come to think of it though....... There was a ring of sex slave cretins just busted in Calgary (they were bringing in young girls from Thailand). Maybe their sentence should fit the crime. Smear them with Moose pheromones and send them in to visit with a daddy moose - "come here darlin' - you know you want me (it)!" A unique form of Canadian justice that might end sex crimes for good. No - too much cruelty to animals in that.

I had dreams last night that were kind of a mixed metaphor. Started out at what seemed to be a community hall. I wanted to register my youngest son for some kind of martial arts course being offered. As I approached the building it took on the form of a mountain chalet on a rocky plateau. It sort of resembled the tea house that is on the top of Sulphur Mountain in Banff National Park. Banff. There were a lot of people inside wandering around - maybe a class change. I finally found the woman responsible for the registrations. She said I had a credit for my third son for a course he hadn't been able to attend - did I want to transfer it to my youngest? That would be fine. As I said that I found myself in the home of this woman and her two teen daughters. It had a very high cathedral ceiling with heavy wood beams. The floors and the walls were of wood as well. High polish on the floors but the walls were matte, but beautiful all the same. There was a large armoire in the center of the room and nothing else. The woman asked me if I could help her and her daughters solve a problem. It seemed to have to do with the armoire. I was wondering if I was going to see something like the wardrobe in "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" by CS Lewis. We opened the doors - french period styilng - and saw drapes of white silk. There was something behind them but then the doors shut themselves. The woman and the daughters were quite upset and started to cry - that's when I woke up.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats