Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:42 p.m. - 2003-11-01
Masks
Well, number five son, with my youngest in tow, left very early this morning for his Dad's home. Reason? New girlfriend - he needs to be near her and she just lives a few blocks from there. He did seem better when he left and I packed vitamin c, vicks, and antihistamines in his backpack - along with the laundry I'd just finished up doing for him, so he should be ok in the short term. My youngest was back before supper.

Hallowe'en went smoothly last night in spite of all the inside drama. About 80 children came to our door, but with the weather as cold as it was that's a good number. I watched Michael Jackson's Ghosts and Thriller, of course, to set the proper mood for the evening. There's got to be a strong Neptune/Pluto contact in his astrological chart I think. Dreams, art, the film industry, and illusions - Neptune, transformation, change, sex, and taboos - Pluto. I love the choreography and costuming in those two productions. I've always had a secret wish to do something like that. One of the ghouls in Thriller always fascinates me with her movements that imply no muscle left to impair movements of the bones - cool. Probably the dancing in those films would be as good as any workout that could be devised.

I watched the make-up sessions to prepare for a scene - that would be gross, but then I remembered how much time the actors in "Lord of the Rings" spent every day before they could get on with their work. I guess it's a part of the job and you would accept that too. Those makeup artists are pretty amazing though. I once had to accept makeup being put on for a panel discussion on a televison program. I must admit I spent a lot of time stealing looks at the monitor, because I truly didn't recognize the person sitting in my chair as me - she was really pretty. When I got home my sons were waiting at the door. They thought the transformation was hysterical. So did I, but I was grateful to the makeup man for his kindness.

I hadn't realized the allegations against Michael Jackson about some activities on his ranch came just as Ghosts was to be released. I never understood why the movie "Dogma" caused such an uproar among Catholics, but I think the subject matter, lyrics, and symbols/archetypes used in Ghosts would have had the same effect on other denominations. I wonder if delaying the release of this piece or the hope of stopping the release had anything to do with the timing of the accusations. Don't know.

I feel sorry for actors and musicians - their lives are painted by the media in a way that leaves them with no control over their privacy, let alone over the truth about them as human beings. I don't ever accept anything I see in print about them as true and I wish other people would quit reading the trash as well. If someone has done something criminal, then that is fair game, but the degree of voyeurism in most people's lives through tabloids and "reality" television is very disturbing to me. To me, it means people are avoiding dealing with their own lives. Maybe I'm wrong, but there's a level of meanness or cruelty in them that does not speak well of the people who find the experience pleasurable.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats