Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:38 a.m. - 2003-10-26
Mountain Standard Time
Hmmmmm - extra hour of sleep and strange dreams. Coincidence? I think not. First one seemed to be occurring in Russia. My sister and I were out shopping in a place like a mall, only it was like an old converted office building. We were in a store that sold women's clothing, looking through those circular racks that are used to maximize space but are awful in terms of seeing what the merchandise is like. Because we were tourists and it appeared we would be departing for home shortly, we were carrying our bags (literally - bags) and purses with us. Last minute blitz I guess. All of a sudden, I realized that both the purse and the big black bag I had been carrying had been switched. Instead of my usual small blue denim bag, I looked down to see a large white canvas satchel with brown leather trim on the placket and the shoulder strap. It was huge - how could I have missed someone switching that? When I opened the black bag there were all these 8 track tapes and video toys for little girls. Hundreds of them. When we spoke to the shop clerk about it, she was very sympathetic and went to fetch her manager/store owner. The manager was terrible. She acted as if she thought we her employees and said that we were lazy and thieves for taking her stock, even though it was obvious the things in the bags were very old and were not things her store carried. She yelled and we argued back insisting we wanted to speak with their security agency - the bags we had carried had the kittens in them and we were not going to leave them behind in Russia. The nice clerk, in the meantime, had contacted the security department and arranged for us to go upstairs - sort of a 50's styling to the building with wrought iron railings on the stairs and asphalt tiles I think - to look in their lost and found. My sister had arrived first and found the kittens right away. They were a little bigger than they are now but they seemed fine, just a little intimidated by all the stangeness of their surroundings.

Intermission - had to go feed Miss Kitty and family. Cats don't recognize any measurement of time other than their own circadian rhythm. Wise creatures. Also had to wake my youngest so he could watch "Nigthmare Before Christmas" on TV - he seems fascinated with this movie. Anyway I digress or do I? Nightmares and daylight saving time.

The second dream found me entering another building on my own. Seemd to be a two storey office building. Discretely placed and quietly luxurious in its own way. One had to ring through security to enter. Concrete steps up to the door and then another few steps inside up to the first floor. A long indirectly sunlit corridor. I found myself in a lawyers office. He seemed to be a civil liberties or human rights expert and he had asked me to come talk with him. In real time I have been quite successful with projects I've undertaken as a volunteer over close to 20 years. He wanted me to explain how I determined the strategies or techniques used for proceeding with a project. I explained that because I and the co-volunteers in my community had no power in the accepted sense - meaning lots of money or social status - we just did extensive research, communicated with as many people as we could by diverse methods, wrote papers, and talked with whoever was responsible in government for what we needed built, fixed or changed. Just a lot of hard work and patience really. A lot of fundraising too - that's the hardest part of course. He seemed quite annoyed with me. He kept insisting that I was withholding some "secret ingredient" - you know the tactic that seemed to always ensure success. I explained that one often had to fail as often as one succeeded to figure out what was effective in each case and one had to be willing to try - over and over again - things that might not have been done before. Creative and critical thinking skills. Those factors had to also be applied with patience and civility, including everyone who came forward to speak with you whether they supported what you were trying to do or not. He wouldn't accept that and continued to push for the "secret". He was starting to get quite forceful so I just told him there was nothing more I could addand excused myself. I think he had some big project in mind and wanted it to be easy. That can happen, of course, but it isn't the norm.

Last dream was my son and I talking about the weather and time. How to change or control it. We seemed to be sifting through some obscure tracts and treatises looking for something that had been published in a manuscript originally. Outside the sky was pulsing and the dayliaght was throbbing in a surreal fashion. There seemed to be some sort of humming too and there was a vibration or tremor of some sort that seemed to be moving along my spine - more like the chakras when they're aligned and interacting but difficult to describe. Maybe the research was connected to the solar storms we are having now in real time but much more intense. I woke up with a headache. That could be a reflection of our weather patterns right now though since our weather keeps pulsing from freezing to summery all in a few hours. On Friday, when I was out running errands I think I could have done a "Mary Poppins" if I had taken my umbrella with me - flight without wings, in a wind so chill it cut right through the leather. Today - shorts and t-shirt required. Oh well, our clothes do get well used, no waste of wardrobe.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats