Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:19 p.m. - 2003-10-23
Sunny Weather
Last night I asked for a dream to indicate how I stood with one of my supervisors right now, because we haven't communicated much lately.

I had a very brief dream sequence where I was sitting at a desk. He walked into the room and tossed the keys to the car to me. I have never had a driver's licence so I would have to interpret that as giving me more control over projects I take on for the company we both work for. He wasn't entirely happy with that release of control in the dream, but in real time he does like to be included day to day in our work because of the element of risk sometimes involved. I hesitated picking them up, when I realized he meant for me to have them. I know I would want to sit down and work out an action plan with him before I moved forward so that each of us knew what the new expectations were in real time so that made sense too. However, he hasn't contacted me about any work yet, so right now it's a moot point.

Today was one of those days where you run all your waking time, but can't quite describe all you've done. I left home almost as soon as I woke today. Rain pounding down, with the thought of the forecast at 11 PM the evening before running through my mind as I decided what to wear. It had said the day would start out warm but become increasingly cold and blustery, with rain possibly changing to snow. My Dad's neighbour gave him a full length,lined suede coat, that no longer fit her, to pass on to me. Forest green - one of my favorite colours - complete with matching mini skirt, (not on in this weather), but I thought I'd test it's warmth and wear factor out now before winter sets in for real. I also wore my winter boots (sob) for the first time in about 8 months. They weren't really necessary, except that I don't want to risk a fall on icy pavement just after healing from that last trip (punny - I know). As often happens, the weather warmed up during the day rather than what was forecasted. I can always take layers of clothes off, though and that is a much safer strategy overall in this city.

The trip downtown was to pick up supplies for working on this part of Elections Canada's assignment, to top up some herbal supplies, drop off my son's travel documents, and then stock up on groceries on the way home. Although there were no waits between bus/train connections, that still consumed 4 hours of my time. I did try a new route home from my Dad's store - where my son works - still thinking of the winter looming ahead. You see, often winter storms can make various routes impassable for any traffic - including busses. Also, the trains can freeze up - oh yes, my brother - meaning that getting downtown the regular way isn't possible, unless one has cab fare AND a cab is available. In winter those are at a premium, with waits of several hours. Add in the cost - never mind - and basically one's work day and pay is shot. I always travel on transit with alternate routes in mind for just such occasions. Today just seemed to be a good day to try out a new alternative that's different from what I usually do. It was a nice change of scenery as well and I met the first neighbour I had sharing my current duplex. We've bumped into each other a few times recently and she seems to be interested in renewing the relationship - I'd like that I think.

The new route did mean a walk on the last lap from one community south of mine to the grocery store, but it was warm, if blustery, and I enjoyed the exercise. The walk also showed me a problem with the coat. It kept catching in the laces of my boots - nearly tripping me several times - that I can now make certain is fixed before icy streets make recovering lost balance impossible.

By the time I arrived home I had a "seeing auras" migraine. It hurt so badly that I didn't make or return any of the telephone calls I needed to complete the tasks I'd set for myself for the day. Could have been the pulsing weather systems that were the theme today, could have been because I hadn't had my caffeine fix or because I hadn't eaten yet, I guess. However, on the news there was a story about a major solar storm (a level 3 out of 5) that has hit the earth with one major flare, with one more to hit tomorrow. The last one like it was recorded in 1859. It knocked out telecommunications (telegraph wires) across North America and Europe then and started fires in several places around the globe. Just what we need right now - more forest fires and power outages. I checked the website SolarWeather to get more details then skipped over to NASA's website for their data too. SolarFlare. The upside is that the Northern Lights - Aurora Borealis - should be incredibly beautiful and visible much further south than usual.

In addition, NASA had the times for the two, count em, two days of Leonid meteor showers due in November (13 and 19) and a description of an experiment to test part of Einstein's General Theory of Relativity. Disappointingly though, no mention of of the total lunar eclipse moving toward 17 degrees Taurus on November 8 or the total solar eclipse moving to 2 dergrees Sagittarius on November 23. The lunar eclipse especially should be quite powerful from a psychological perspective, but I think I'll talk about that tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats