Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:13 a.m. - 2003-10-14
Celebrate
Thanksgiving a year ago Thanksgiving2002 was quite a contrast to Thanksgiving today. Today the day started with snow and sleet. Dark grey skies softening to dove grey, then sleet turning to rain. Brrrrrrr. Got up first thing, lit some candles, and put on "Lord of the Dance". Got the hams in the oven, then started working on the cheesecakes. The various scents mingled and recalled memories of layers of Thanksgiving Days one year after another. Next I settled the cats needs for the day and woke my guys. I decided I needed to put on pantyhose for the first time in about six months. Usually I hate that, but the extra warmth felt good this morning. The kittens were absolutely fascinated by the fact that my legs had grown another skin. Pasha came close, sniffed then delicately licked my ankles. First concern of kittens - is it edible? Nope. Next he gently used his claws to test the fabric for elasticity. Second concern of kittens - can I make it a toy? Nope. That established to his satisfaction, Pasha decided a good game of tag was much more to his liking after he conveyed his findings to the rest of the tribe, who were waiting politely for his report. Can't fool these guys.

My Dad arrived just about the time we were ready to leave. He was really struggling. His neighbours have really worked hard to include him in their lives since my Mom died. Now the husband is in the last stages of bone cancer. Dad has been making certain he gets out for constitutionals at least a couple of times a week, but it is obvious it is really eating at him. Added to that, he is trying to sell the building that his business has been in for the past 45 years with all the legal folderol that goes with it. The two issues balance each other off but don't leave much time for catching one's balance emotionally. In both cases I think he feels good about his choices and I hope that will help him get through this time.

We were to meet at my sister's new home today and made good time on the crosstown commute. All told there were 23 people and one scaredy cat - Coal - in attendance. My brother-in-law has already been busy adapting their home to his tastes. In the family room downstairs he has decorated the space above the wainscoting and on the ceiling with cover art. You know - the old album covers of LPs, vinyl records. It looked really cool and it was a great walk down the corridors of the past. My brother-in-law and sister are quite eclectic in their musical tastes so there were artworks from all the genres. Folk, Country, Rhythm and Blues, Rock, and Jazz - Etta James playing as we walked in. My favorites? A black and white photo of John and Yoko, The Boss (from the back), Janis Joplin, Uriah Heep's first album, a full size photo of Tina Turner, several Beatles albums, Peter Tosh, ZZ Top, The Eagles. Those are the ones that come to mind first anyway.

As the family gypsy, I read cards for about four hours until my Dad was ready to go home. In the meantime, my nieces and their friend had fun playing dolls with my grand-daughter, then they took her and my grandson off to the park while the men/boys went downstairs to watch the football game(s)? And everyone ate. It took everyone taking two helpings before it was possible to put out all the dishes that had been brought. Even so, there were very few leftovers. Well I guess once in a while too much of a good thing is a good thing, if it is celebrated with one's family. Right? By the time we left, the sun was shining in a bright blue sky and it was much warmer. The cats were very pleased to see us when we arrived home. Might have something to do with the fact that they had emptied out their generous supply of food too, but they also seemed to want a lots of cuddles. Lit candles, fed them and read out loud. "The Return of the King" from the Lord of the Rings series. The battle for Gondor is over and the "rightful king" has revealed himself by his hands as a healer. On to Mordor.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats