Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:40 p.m. - 2003-10-10
Play Time
More technical problems with the computer. I don't know why Mercury has singled me out for such testing, but enough already. The new feature in the security bundle our internet provider offered that I had asked to be activated still doesn't work. I requested the option be added by phone on September 25 2003 and received the link by e-mail that day. I tried several times over a number of days to activate it with the user id and password provided on registration. The message after I had gone through the process in the software has always been that the activation has been successful, but upon shutting down then restarting the program or even rebooting the computer the indicator on the software shows it is still inactive. Last night when I tried once again, the download crashed my computer and I had to reboot it several times just to get it back to where I had been to start with. Still no activation either. To say the least, I am frustrated. I did e-mail the company today with the details and their tech support got back to me within a couple of hours. Their position was that I must have received a corrupted copy and gave me the steps to remove everything. They also provided me with a new link so I could reinstall a new program. Still no success. There is one more set of steps because the alternative problem posited is a corrupt .dat file - whatever that means. About five hours worth of work and still no success. Good thing I've been a parent. It takes about 20 years to be certain you've been successful in that one - or at least by then your child's choices are their own - not your responsibility.

Big breakthrough in Canadian medical research. Breast cancer survival (through reduced recurrence rate) was doubled after taking a new treatment developed here. Women on the placebo were put on the real thing so that they wouldn't be left at risk. I think shortening the trial period due to success is quite rare. Nice to hear. Like everyone else, I'm sure, I have a lot of friends who have had to deal with the disease. I don't care much for a lot that is done in the name of treatment, because it hasn't been demonstrated to be anymore effective than no treatment. It gives one a great deal more hope when results are this positive.

Heard from my friend who lives on the farm south of Calgary. She spent the fall competing in a sport she loves and went to Toronto to spend time with her daughter. Her daughter dances with the National Ballet and has lived there since she was ten. I admire her Mom for being able to let her daughter pursue such a dream. I know I would have found it very difficult to let one of my children live 2000 miles away at such a young age. D seemed to be able to find the balance though traveling back and forth. One of her sons was also in the troupe for a while, but didn't want to stay. She was fine with his choice to come home too. She's gone to Mexico with her youngest son and will be back in a week. We can get together then and I'll be able to hear all her news.

I was pleased with the winner chosen for the Nobel Peace Prize - an Iranian woman who has remained in her country and fought for the human rights of women and children there, despite the extreme danger to her own life. One of Canada's female journalists was beaten to death there just a few months ago because she was taking pictures of the outside of Evin prison - a notorious place - I think for a story about the violent detainment of students who had held non-violent demonstrations for democratic reforms. Still no substantive action to catch her murderers and her body was "disposed of" there. I'm still wondering how Aung San Suu Kyi is faring too. She won the Prize some years ago for her work in Myanmar (Burma). She was taken into custody again in about February when she was traveling to campaign for election in that country. Reports of her capture were very disturbing and she has had surgery since. The Red Cross and some diplomats have been allowed to communicate with her but her physical state (head injuries were an issue) is still unclear even now. I wonder how Ahnie and gang would cope with something like that in real life. Many of the Nobelists find themselves in that position at one time or another. Not even international recognition and respect can protect them in a lot of the really depraved regimes they stand up to. They deserve whatever intervention the world can offer, given that they are doing the work we should be doing collectively anyway.

Time to go play with the kittens and exercise at the same time. One thing I do know is that my balance hasn't suffered from the hip injury. With six cats dancing around my legs while I try to navigate the stairs I'd be in trouble if it was. I've reached the point now where I can rotate and extend the hip/leg sideways without discomfort. Just need to strengthen the muscles that have atrophied so badly in the past couple of months and then I'm good to go again. Having such entertaining dance partners makes it easier though, although I do wish they would remember to keep their claws sheathed when they want to wrestle with their human.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats