Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:09 p.m. - 2003-10-07
Autumn Leaves
I found quite a few job postings that would work for me today. It tells me that budgets for the fourth quarter must have been divvied out to the departments, so things can go forward for them. That's how the industry I work in operates - quarterly. I'll send all my resumes by e-mail tomorrow now that I have a list. That way I'll be certain of consistency and have records of the transactions all in the same place.

Got an e-mail from the young lady who shared my phone with me two contracts ago. Her wedding and honeymoon went well and she's settling comfortably in Toronto right now. That's where she's going to university. She worked in the Provincial election that ran on Tuesday and I had asked her for her perceptions, because it's her first time behind the ballot box. Sometimes the clearest perceptions of a process are given by those who have the least knowledge of them. That way there is no "filling in the blanks" with expectations or rationalizations that can cloud things, when one has been in a position too long. I also asked her for some ideas about getting more people out to vote. She sent back some really good ones. Now I'll have to see if I can get the kahunas in Ottawa to consider them - with credit going to her of course.

Number three son called this evening. He wanted to know if I had booked his flights for Vancouver yet, and if so, could they be changed. No I hadn't, since my intuition had said to wait until the 8th. I thought maybe that meant seat sales or a change in departure times. Guess it just meant I wouldn't have to try rejigging the bookings down the road. It appears his buddy doesn't know his work schedule yet and they're trying to co-ordinate themselves to maximize their playtime together. My son was instant messaging his buddy while we talked. Gibes were exchanged, and questions and answers went back and forth. With the airmiles program I can also book a number of admissions to different attractions available in Vancouver - concerts, hockey games, fishing trips, restaurants and special features like museums, marine exhibits, snowboard and ski packages. I gave the two a list of possibilities so they can discuss their options. When they decide, I can book everything together. Number three son is endlessly generous with everyone else, but seldom looks after himself. He deserves a treat.

My youngest and I were going to start working on the yard today. It became ankle deep in crisp, crackly golden leaves that appeared everywhere overnight. Mother nature decided otherwise. Up until now the temperature has been in the mid to high 20's C/ high 70's F with no wind. Today the high was about 60 F/ or in the high teens C with a very strong blustery wind. Just didn't make sense to try and catch the wind. Maybe tomorrow after I've got all the resumes out.

I've almost lost access to my bed. Tried to have a nap this evening - recharge the batteries so I can give more energy to the exercising. The kittens seem to love cuddling up with their humans. Their favorite place? The rib cage. I'm guessing it's because they can hear the heartbeat. All I know is that I had one burrowed into my ribs on each side and one kitten on top. The other two were snuggled on top of their siblings. Mom was curled up on my legs. All of them were purring and I kept inhaling hair. Now there's been a study released from somewhere about sleeping positions and what that reveals about an individual's personality. I don't fit their analysis because I tend to shift over the night. I generally start off on my right side in fetal position, switch to lying on my tummy, then finally lying on my left side in a reverse fetal (hips and legs flexed back not forward). I guess that means my personality adapts to fit the situation - right? But what does it mean when one is draped with cats?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats