Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:53 p.m. - 2003-10-06
Dibs and Dabs
Just bits and pieces today. Woke up from a dream about working with the supervisor I had about four contracts ago. We seemed to be working in an old, out-of-the-way warehouse. There were floor to ceiling shelves of books, seemed like miles of them. It wasset up like the archives of a massive library or government institutions;thousands of boxes of paperwork as well. We came across some old, dusty manuscripts too that seemed very valuable. We weren't working in the same industry as we both normally do and yet the data we were looking for had something to do with it. Something about events that had transpired in the late 1940's or '50's. Again the theme of young children - their care and protection also seemed to be part of the dream, but I really don't recall the context for that. I woke up feeling as if the core of my being was being shaken, think of a really taut wire vibrating - like that, it's hard to describe. Looked outside to see the contractors doing something in the alley with some heavy machinery. Maybe the vibrations came from their work. Late in the afternoon a brief nap with the kittens piled next to me on top of my comforter. Another dream of sweet seduction - where is this stuff coming from?

Early this morning my phone rang. It was a security representative - G - from my telephone company. He said the problem with the forwarded line had been dealt with and that he had tested the other line several times this morning to make sure it was not ringing through to my line. He told me that if it started to happen again, I was to follow the steps he gave me for tracing the problem and that I was also to talk to the police immediately about harassment issues. I interjected that I thought my requests of some of Angela's church friends to intercede, had been effective in reducing the problem. He just repeated, somewhat more firmly, the tracing/harassment instructions and left it at that. Something else must have been revealed when the complaint was investigated, I think. I don't know where Angela is finding some of the male friends that called, but I might just follow up on the rep's instructions because of them - some of them gave me the creeps. Glad they don't have a way of finding out my name and address. About four hours later I got an automated message from the phone company's service department just confirming they had closed the trouble file for now.

I spent some time working on the internet looking for some information for P and my number two son this afternoon. Yesterday they had said they wanted P's mom to have a full range of options with respect to her lifestyle, now that she is a widow. One of P's concerns was that wherever her Mom went, she would absolutely have to have a garden of her own. Since I've done a lot of volunteer work in that area, P asked if I would find out if there were community garden plots in Chinatown, in case her Mom wanted move to there at sometime. "Go to Chinatown - ask for Cain."(Kung Fu). Finally found the correct web-address and a contact telephone number at about 4 pm. Called it and the representative said they would call with the details tomorrow. I put all the levels of governments' websites for seniors and the programs that are available into an e-mail and sent it to my son. I wanted him to see that there were also a lot of support programs that would help P's mom stay in her own home. She is still quite healthy and capable of making her own decisions. My guess is that she won't want to change her current living arrangements for a long time yet.

My youngest tried to turn on the television while I was talking to the gardening rep, only to find the cable had been disrupted again. Called the cable company to report the second round of damage - I'd wondered why all the activity in the alley had ceased a little earlier. They have a nice feature on their customer service line. A recording tells you how long the estimated wait time on hold will be and offers you the option of leaving a message on voicemail that keeps your place in the queue to be answered. Means you still have to be at the number you leave for them to call you back, but at least you don't have to have a phone attached to one ear listening to muzak in the interim. The recording indicated that it would be a minimum of half an hour, so I took the voicemail option. My call-back came about 45 minutes later. This time the company wasn't aware there was a problem so it was good I called, I guess.

Exciting news in the paper on the weekend. A concert with both Bryan Adams and Colin James set for mid-November. I'd love to go to that. Even though I've been musing about travel and other ways to spend money in my posts the last little while, dear diary, nothing gets spent until the job situation is dealt with. However, I need something to keep me moving forward some days too. There's a concert with George Thoroughgood in about two weeks too. It's in a bar though, so that's out of question. Where there's cigarette smoke asthmatics dare not go - at least not this one. Too bad. Number four son allowed as he had tickets to go see Red Hot Chili Peppers, but I don't think he would be open to the idea of taking his Mom with him - too hard to meet young ladies that way. Not really my first choice for entertainment anyway although they have a few songs I like. Guess I'll have to make my own entertainment.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats