Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:41 a.m. - 2003-10-05
Contact
Productive day today, although it didn't start out that way. You see, there's this phenomenon called "day care/school" colds. Happens every fall, when the little ones go back to school. They share everything - including every single germ in the universe. Just keep passing it around. It was one of the things I didn't miss when the boys were all finished elementary school. Now I have grandbabies - so guess what? You've got it, and so do I and number six son. Its baaaaaack! It should run it's course by tomorrow, but in the mean time sinus pain, drippy noses, headaches, and fever are de rigueur. Yuck. Don't feel too much like doing anything and no one in their right mind wants to be near you anyway.

Today though I went to the post office and got all that paperwork mailed. Went and bought some new jeans for my youngest at the same time (have I mentioned I love sales). He's only grown a couple inches taller in the past month or two - not much fits him anymore. Since he's the biggest of the boys, there also isn't much to hand down.

Got home and found a couple of job postings that would really work well for me. One contract is in the industry I've been working in the past decade; the other would put to use all the skills/expertise/contacts I gained volunteering for nearly two decades, while I was an at home mom. Whether the qualifications I have will be accepted or not is hard to judge, but I have enough tangible evidence of success that, at least, I should be given consideration. I don't have a poli-sci degree, just the real experience in community politics. We'll see.

Heard from all but one of my guys today. All just touching base about one thing or another. Number three son and his buddy in Vancouver finally settled on dates for his visit to the coast. Spent some time researching how to cash in my airmiles for him, since I've never used them for anything before. It was a good exercise, because it showed me that my wish to go to Greece/Egypt wasn't entirely impossible. In fact, there were also fabulous tours of the Far East, for Australia and New Zealand, for the British Isles, for Thailand, for Morocco - who could resist starting off in Casablanca then traveling through Ras to Marrakesh - and for the Caribbean, that all were doable with the points I've accumulated, plus a little of the money I'll make on the next election, if I'm reappointed. Hope that becomes so. I think the fence could wait. That money would cover the balance of the costs. Well I can dream.

Still having trouble with Angela and her phone issues. I've talked with her Mom, and there have been four different churches calling for her the past few days - what's up with that? And to top it off, some guy just called now starting off with "How's my little Mama?" I'm lucky the gag reflex didn't kick in - the caller sounded fairly drunk. Now, this woman is about the same age as me. Given the difficulty she's having with the three children she already has, I hope that that was just a term of endearment. Anyway not my business, except for the one little fact that I'm getting all her calls. I've had an extended discussion with two of the people who have called from different church groups and asked them to intervene with her for me. I know its a bit cowardly, but I don't want another round of being blamed for her childrens' behaviour - confrontation is not my strength. I guess if things don't stop after tomorrow's services, I'll have to try contacting her phone company to see if they can at least block the call forward feature until the calls to me stop.

The exercise ball I'm using right now seems to fascinate the kittens. "Grease" was on the TV tonight so I was trying to work in time to that music. If they had sleeves I'd swear the little darlings were laughing up theirs at my efforts. Trying to do push-ups and other upper body work is kind of tricky when a couple are playing tag in between my arms and under my chest. One leapt up on top of my back to enjoy the view from there. Another couple curled up right beside the ball, while I was on it, making it difficult to feel safe just doing my thing. When the boys were little just lifting one on each arm was enough to work the lats, but I don't think the kittens would provide enough weight for that otherwise I'd take my revenge that way. Later, I found myself surfing the net looking for some bellydance videos to add into the regime. I really enjoy the dancing, but getting to a class and then not getting home to close to 11 at night is just a little overwhelming. Top that off with the fact that most of the course offerings in the city have more than doubled to $200 per semester and investing $40 for a set of four separate video workouts isn't all that bad. Anyway, by the end of the night I felt that at least I'd moved forward with things a little.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats