Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:56 a.m. - 2003-10-04
Entertainment
Not a lot to talk about dear diary. Not that ther isn't a lot to say, but there's more to think through before commenting. There is a lot going on this weekend in the city. The end of the International Film Festival, Octoberwest (celebration of all things cowboy at Heritage Park) and the two day health expo.

That one has an interesting history. When it first was offered in a high school gym, it was held up to scorn in the local media because it was predominently "new age" airy fairy stuff. You know, acupuncture, herbal medicine, homeopathy, massage, chiropractors, and really weird stuff like yoga and meditation - "cart them off to the funny farm, Mabel". Now it is one of the biggest events in the fall, needing a much larger venue because of all the presenters and attendees. There is even a greater variety of alternative or complementary modalities offered. Oh how the times change, hmmmmmm?

One of the best local magazines for people wanting to know what is available in the complementary health care community is called "Synchronicity". And its free. I picked up the latest copy today and I always find something useful in its pages. Sometimes a story (parable) from one of the local healers or sometimes just recipes, doesn't matter. That isn't to say that all the people involved in the community are on the up and up though. I have run into a few who are shysters, some who simply want to make money by scaring people needlessly, and even a couple who need serious mental health care themselves - a danger to anyone who looks to them for help. No different than the western medical community in otherwords.

Received the schedule for the fall and winter folk scene in Calgary. There isn't one of the entertainers I wouldn't enjoy seeing, but the ones that appeal the most are Steve Earle, Mary Lamond, and James Keelaghan. Got to find a job I guess, can't spend on luxuries until then. A couple of the acts are at locations in the downtown, so I wouldn't even mind going on my own since I would be comfortable in the area and would find the travel home convenient since they are located near the trains. We'll see. Maybe one of my guys would come if I pretend not to be with them. folkfest

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats