Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:20 a.m. - 2003-09-09
Turnaround
I mentioned, a few posts ago, that I received a call from an employment agency about a full time job in the industry for which I generally work. An appointment was set up for this morning. Mercury retrograde is still having it's effect apparently. I caught the bus that should have allowed me to connect with the train that would get me to the appointment with 15 to 20 minutes to spare. Not. The train pulled away while my finger was still pushing the button to open the door. Fine. 15 minutes later the next train - the one I was sitting in - did the same thing to the next pulse of arriving bus patrons, leaving them standing frustrated on the platform. Then transit and city officials wonder why more people don't use the public system. Stupid scheduling is a major reason.

Made it into the agency building about 3 mintues late - could have been worse I guess. Met with the interviewer, but some things left me curious. When she had called to set up a time with me, she referred to my resume which she had pulled off the net. We discussed the idea of a full time posting, when I still need to be certain I can take a leave of absence when an election is called. There's been speculation in all the media about the next probable date and consensus is it will be before the middle of next year. I confirmed that was a condition of taking the assignment on my part. She still wanted me to come in for the interview.

Yet today it was very clear that she knew the company would not accept that condition. I repeated that that was the reason I had been working contract for so long. So why set up the meeting? The agency does do temporary placements, but they are mostly entry level. I don't mind doing any kind of work, but entry level generally means wages lower than the amount I need just to pay my basic - and modest - bills. I'm not willing to go deeper in the hole each month while working in a full time position. The interviewer noted that she knew that would be a problem for me before the interview. So why knowing all that, did she want me to come in? She did say that she would keep her eye out for something that would make better use of my skills and also promote me where she could to employers. I think I missed something. However, she was very pleasant and my gut feeling is that she is a good person, so I'll just have to trust that today's process was for a reason.

Nipped by the data mangement firm to pick up my final (for now, maybe?) paperwork. Felt sad about that, but life goes on. Everyone seemed very busy, so I didn't stay. Went to my chiropractor's office without having booked an appointment, because I didn't know how long the interview was going to be. As always, the receptionist made a way to fit me in. His staff always makes me feel welcome there. Good thing.

I was really feeling a lot of pain about then. My chiropractor seemed a little concerned that I hadn't gained as much mobility in the hip as he thought I should, but he'd last seen me less than two days after I fell. There was so much inflammation then, that I don't think anything other than an MRI or deep tissue thermography scans would have shown the extent of the damage. I live in this body and I wasn't able to tell that soon after. By the time he finished, I was able to fully flex the hip (bring the knee up toward the chest) and the alignment of the bones and muscle was corrected enough to allow the proper gait to occur. Big steps forward. There is significant atrophy in some of the most damaged muscles, but that is just a matter of exercise. We discussed restarting my yoga. His comment was just to do what I felt was best.

Last errand was to replenish my stock of herbals to deal with the asthma problem. Odd thing is one tv news team emphasized every evening this summer that the air quality index was not being affected by the forest fires. The other main station was noting this had been the worst summer for asthma sufferers in a decade. I tend to agree with the latter. Unusually hot, dry weather unbroken for three months, high pollen count, plus heavy smoke and ash from the forest fires made that inevitable. One 15 year old girl died about 10 days ago from an attack. I suspect a couple of other deaths of unknown cause listed for young adults were also breathing related.

I know I have had to use an inhaler and other strong meds daily, all day, for the last two weeks. I also have not been able to go outside or open my doors or windows for the past two weeks. Claustrophobia and a sense of dissociation from the rest of the community were becoming problems as a result. That hasn't been an issue for at least a decade and it has exhausted my body. The prescription drugs' effects (rebounding) are to make me feel like someone had taken a baseball bat to my ribs from the inside. Not pleasant. I guess I should be thankful that so much of looking for work can be done through the internet. Today it was safe to be out, because the temperature had dropped from 32 C/90 F yesterday, to 13 C/55 F today with a nice cooling rain into the bargain. I still have a hacking, croupy cough from the pollution, but another cool rainy day is forecast for tomorrow, so that should help a lot. Bliss and a whole night's sleep as a result.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats