Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:40 a.m. - 2003-09-05
Work
I was going to "'splain yourself Lucy" with respect to my little rant yesterday, but work issues had to be addressed first. It's very late and I need to be certain I make it downtown in a few hours to deal with some paperwork. This entry is going to be brief - I think.

Got a call a couple of evenings ago from the Returning Officer who had originally called me about having our appointments renewed. She decided to call one of our Members of Parliament for information, since we can get almost no information from Elections Canada's senior staff. Apparently, the MP's understanding is that as long as we still reside in our constituency's boundaries after they are altered, our appointment is still in effect. I'm glad and I hope she's correct.

Reason being is that I got a call from one of my office staff from last election. She is one of the people I had determined I wanted to have a bigger role this time. I think succession planning in any job is critical for the health of the organization. I'd like to ensure that she is one of the people who gets additional experience and training this time around. She has the temperament and problem solving skills that are really critical to the success of an event. She was asking if an election call was imminent, because she had just been offered some short term work that would cover about three months time. She said she would prefer to work on the election, so wanted to be certain that she didn't have to cancel in the middle of the other contract. Responsibility and reliability are two other critical characteristics necessary for the work we do. I was pleased to have such a clear demonstration of those from her.

Two calls about more work from resumes I submitted two days ago.. One from an employment agency with a full time position in the area I've been contracting in for the past ten years. Quite honestly, I prefer staying as contract, despite the lack of benefits, because of the flexibility and variety it gives me in terms of day to day work. However, I can't afford the long periods of time between contracts that have been the norm the past 18 months. I just don't make enough to set aside enough money to tide me over in between. I explained to the recruiter that I would need to be in an organization that would tolerate me taking leave for elections. I'm hoping that is a possibility but i wouldn't bet the farm on it.

Second "call" in response to an on-line application I submitted was a request for more information. The work would be writing for an on-line publication. Telecommuting and writing too! My dream job if I can make a living from it. The request was for samples of my work. Just sent it off but it took several hours to prepare. That's why this entry was so late dear diary, and why it is going to come to an end now. Sleep is required. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats