Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:20 p.m. - 2003-08-31
Preparation
My oldest son called to say he's on his way over with the grandbabies. That's great, but they usually stay until late in the day, meaning that I need to get all the "need concentration or careful attention" tasks done before hand. So far so good, the newspaper is read, dishes and laundry are done, our cat family has been adequately fed and watered. Dinner is ready to go - spaghetti and meatballs with salad on the side, bananas and sherbet for dessert. I'll leave washing the floors until tomorrow.

Activities in the city today offer a lot to choose from. There's the Highland games, a real fall fair at Heritage Park, a barbeque on the Bow river, and - for the gunslingers in the family - the quick draw championships for North America just outside the city limits. However, there's also been a very heavy pall of smoke over the city the past couple of days and the pollen index is in the red zone. Temps are at about 30 C/ 90's F with no wind. Since I'm really struggling just to keep my breathing normal, i'm just staying in the house with all the windows shut. No sleep last night. I'd pulled a bunch of books and magazines I've been meaning to read out for the days entertainment before I knew about the visit today so they'll wait another day.

Found myself going through my closet yesterday pulling out my travelling gear and thinking about what to pack so I can travel light but have what I need. Odd thing is I'm not scheduled to travel anywhere and I certainly can't afford it. Yet there I was looking at the business clothes I have, trying to decide whcih combination of separates would give me the most out fits with the least need for ironing. My intuition has been spot on recently though so I'm not going to dismiss the possibility out of hand. Have to be out of someone else's bank account though.

Anyway, I have some more things to prepare, dear diary, before the babies arrive so I'd better get moving.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats