Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:58 a.m. - 2003-08-30
Hiatus
Just odds and ends tonight. Spent some time with my Dad today. Just shopping and lunch. Comparing notes on things political. What we've both seen going on behind the scenes Federally, doesn't add up with what is being portrayed in public. That is often the way, of course, but this is truly paradoxical. I guess waiting for the other shoe to drop is all that is possible right now. Speculation just drives one crazy.

Interesting profile on this area (Southern Alberta)called "Snoweater" on the history channel. Much of life's rhythms here are dominated by our strange winds - the chinooks or "snoweater" according to the Blackfoot. They occur, on average every 12 days. Our outside temperatures can vary by as much as 60 F in an hour. These winds suck all the moisture out of the air and anything else they touch. In the winter this is wonderful as huge snowbanks disappear completely in a few hours, but it can be deadly in summer. They turn the idea of regular seasons upside down - "if you don't like the weather just wait 10 minutes and it will change"; sometimes we can experience all four in less than a day. Chinooks affect about 10 to 15% of our population directly by inducing migraines, arthritis, and respiratory responses that can be anywhere from mild to dangerous. They are what make ranching economically viable, while posing a constant challenge to farmers. It is hard to explain the phenomenon to someone who has never experienced one, but they dominate our lifestyles. I think the documentary did a good job of balancing the pros and cons - looking at all sides of the issue. In some ways it could be compared to the far north's phenomenon of nearly four months of darkness and an equivalent amount of non-ending day. Only certain types of personalities can deal with those extremes; some bodies simply can't adapt.

A lot of tantric images and text showing up wherever I go the past few days - really unexpected flashes of revelation in odd places. I had hit a bit of a plateau in the work I was doing, guess this means it's time to move to the next phase. One of the themes that keeps becoming stronger is around Thai massage. I had picked up a text for it's practice in the spring just on a whim - I thought. Lately what I keep running into is course offerings. We'll see, most are pretty expensive. Besides I signed up for four free courses that started a month ago and I haven't done any work on those at all. Between the double contract work for the first third of the month and the hip injury that's made it impossible for me to sit for much more than half an hour at a time, the past two weeks, I haven't been able to work out a way to make it happen. I'll try this weekend I guess.

A lot of dream fragments about protecting people - especially children - the past few nights. The only one where I remember much is one where I dream I am being trained to be a spy. A lot of the action occurs around and in a chalet in an alpine setting. There are other trainees as well. It seems that suddenly one of the babies on site becomes the target of kidnappers. Ready or not lessons have to be applied. I thought I was stresed in waking hours. The other dreams all had themes around protecting or hiding something of value too but they seem to dissolve from consciousness the moment I open my eyes. Not certain how or if it applies to anything in real time. Maybe the brain is still trying to assimilate the effect watching "Three Days of the Condor" had on me. Maybe I should stick to Disney movies and things like Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter - at least I'm certain those are pretend.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats