Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:00 p.m. - 2003-08-25
Music and History
Link to the Masses for the Music Entry

With apologies. I "Write On" everyday. The rest of ya'll "Rock On"!

Cher is in concert in our city tonight. When she performed in Vancouver a few days ago, she donated half of her earnings to the victims of the forest fires in British Columbia. Classy lady. I bought tickets for my Dad to attend tonight's performance for his birthday last June. I had hoped that his friend would be able to attend with him, but she was very ill a few weeks ago and was just released from hospital. Wasn't meant to be, I guess. I can't go with him because I can't sit for that length of time on any kind of chair let alone stadium seats with the injury to my hip. I called my youngest sister to see if she could attend - good choice. She was so excited it was comical.

She swung by this afternoon to pick up the tickets. Her payment was that she had to sit through a show of all our kittens complete with commentary. Sort of like vacation movies I guess. She coped ok. Her sister in law has no children, so her cats are her babies. My sister thinks she might want one our babies. It would be good to know that the kitten chosen would always be loved.

There's a really interesting documentary scheduled on the history channel tonight. It's about the work that the Canadian and US governments opted to do to secure areas north of the 60th parallel during WW II starting in 1942. My Dad's father had a contract to supply the trucks for some of the operations. Their family moved to Dawson Creek and lived there for the duration of the war. Dad has told me a lot of stories of their time there and he has a lot of photos of the construction of the highway. He told me that there were significant quantities of munitions stored within the town's boundaries. There was at least one major explosion that killed a lot of the soldiers stationed there. I think we'll record it for him, since he'll be at the concert tonight.

I've often asked my Dad to keep a tape recorder near his bed to record what he experienced during his early life. He saw and had a lot of unique experiences that would be important to preserve for their own sake, but also so that my sons have a better understanding of their roots and history. Maybe this will be a spur for him to begin.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats