Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:07 p.m. - 2003-08-18
Consequences
I received a really nice email from the supervisor on my last contract. She had requested access to the 7 revised templates I had done, including the instructions sent by the client. These were completed over a two week period. The final template was done at the client's office. She spent quite some time examining them and let me know that she was impressed with the results. She noted that the amount of time taken for completion was well within what she would expect to invest. Analysis of documents on projects such as this, is to provide benchmarks for future projects. Nice to hear.

Yesterday my Dad arrived before lunch for a short visit. He's not dealing well with the smoke and heat. His colouring was poor and he was having flu like symptoms too. I wish he would take it easy when atmospheric conditions are this difficult. There's no shame in it when our health authority is advising even healthy people to take care.

In the afternoon, number two son and his fiancee popped in. She was having a bit of a difficult time because her father's cancer has reactivated - he has emphysema. As an orphan in China he and my daughter inlaw's mom were taken in by Mao's army. It was the only way that young children could survive. When the time came to form families, their commanders determined who would be matched with who. P's mom was a nurse. They escaped as refugees first to Hong Kong and then to Canada. P's brother still lives in Hong Kong with his wife and son. I wish I could speak Cantonese so I could talk with them.

My son had to deal with his first encounter with road rage last weekend. Apparently, an older man in a van pulled up beside them on a busy freeway and accused him of "making a face at him". He made an obscene gesture. My son had been talking with P and didn't know what he was so upset about. He returned the gesture and admitted that he shouldn't have done it. Darn right - I taught him better than that and said so. Anyway this man followed them everywhere they went for a long period of time, so my son finally pulled into a busy gas station. P went into the station to buy a slushie. She let the fellow know she would be using her cellphone to call the police if he was still there when she returned. A number of the witnesses present also offered to call the police since the man got out of his van and immediately started screaming and cursing at my son. P and I both pointed out that it was lucky that guns aren't allowed in vehicles here unless they are locked away and the owner has a licence that indicates he has passed a mandatory safety course or he could have been in real trouble. At least my son realized that he had taken unnecessary risks. I don't think he'll do it again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats