Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 p.m. - 2003-08-17
Hot and Cold
Fort Calgary burnt down yesterday. Arson is suspected. Calgary's formal establishment was the result of the location of a Northwest Mounted Police fort at the convergence of the Bow and Elbow Rivers in 1875. That historic site has been maintained in varying states of repair since then. What was burnt was the palisades. They had been reconstructed by volunteers (mostly police and RCMP officers, I think) according to the construction techniques used in 1875. What is wrong with some people?

Just after I finished writing last night, dear diary, I decided to do my nightly clean. There are just some things I hate waking up to, so I try to make certain I don't have to. I was carrying out the garbage, a light bulb for the porch clutched in the other hand. I stepped over the barrier set up in the hallway to stop Miss Kitty's babies from taking over the whole house. I was planning the sequence of tasks I hoped to complete in the next hour or two.

All of a sudden I was airborne. I'd caught my foot on the barrier in such a way that it launched me into flight. Fortunately for me, the instincts I learned when I was completing aerials during competition in the floor routine in gymnastics took over. Relax and flow with the momentum. Keep the light bulb from making contact with anything solid so I don't finish off with glass embedded in me. That's all I had time to think.

There was a sleeping bag on the floor (to protect our legs from five sets of kitten claws) into which I did a very graceful face plant, my foot having stayed caught on the barrier. First check any broken glass. Nope, but a hyperextended right hand - no problem I'm a southpaw. Upper body - waist up not a scratch. Knees down - ditto. Definitely something not right in the middle though. Not real pain - not yet - but anyone who's torn ligaments or dislocated something would recognize the feeling. First check still not moving - anything broken? Nope. Gathered the body up and stood - walking to confirm the "not broken" hypothesis and to stretch some of the muscles that took the brunt of the impact. Inventory - definitely a problem with the left hamstring and the alignment of the hips weren't right.

After about fifteen minutes of walking - a knock at the door. Two of the young guys from the other side of the duplex. They had the Irish Setter, Rusty, with them. Rusty is not a people dog - he belongs to the neighbours on the other side of me but I have seen these young men playing frisbee in the park with him. Rusty was happily slobbering all over my front step "Do you know whose dog this is? We're trying to find his owners. Oh? At the midnight hour? Brave boys. It's nice to know that these two young guys would take the time to check up on a neighbour in the dead of night.

Anyway, my youngest emerged from his room at that point (he'd been headphoned earlier). I worked through a number of yoga asanas, starting with child's pose, having my son put pressure on any accupressure points that showed a reaction. After about an hour the alignment in the hips was back where it should be. The final analysis? One very sprained hamstring but not much else. Well I'd been wishing it was cooler - right? Sitting on ice packs as long as I could stand it yesterday and today made me feel real cool. Be careful what you ask for you just might get it - God is definitely a male.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats