Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:29 a.m. - 2003-08-15
E=mc2
I caught a glimpse of Mars the other night. In the deep of night with only the low dose streetlights on, it was pretty striking. That was, of course, before the smoke haze from the forest fires. Now just the waning harvest coloured moon is visible. Even passengers flying over our province are reporting they can smell the smoke. At least the forecasters are saying that this was probably the worst day for it. Hope so, I had to skip exercises last night because I wasn't certain my lungs would stand for it, but I'll be back doing the routine in about an hour when it's a little cooler.

So what's worse - bad, hot, dry, air or no electricity? The blackout in Eastern North America was quite a shocker this afternoon, wasn't it. One of the ladies I work with called to ask a question and to tell me about it, just after it happened. I'm not certain why she thought it was important I know, but I appreciated the information. Maybe it was because,like most people, the question in her mind and definitely in mine once I'd heard, was whether it was an accident or something else. It didn't help that several "authority" figures each gave an account of the root cause and none of them were the same - not even the same geographic locations. Puzzling.

If I'd been trying to communicate with people I "talk" with in that region, I guess it would have helped to know why they weren't responding. My friend and her hubby who work in the Middle East were supposed to fly out of Calgary today, on their first leg home. Wonder if they were able to get past the gridlock. I'm certain once she can find a free PC somewhere, she'll sendout an email letting us know how things are progressing.

Interesting debate in a physics forum I follow today. A paper has been published which challenges the current thinking on the nature of time. The young man is 27 and did not complete university - neither did Bill Gates among many other innovative thinkers. Unfortunately half the debate focussed on those factors - which are irrelevant to the ideas presented - and the contention that the conclusion might be correct, but that it wouldn't matter because the proof hadn't been presented according to convention. Fear and the green eyed monster lurking even in academia I guess. If you want to peruse Peter Lynds paper, dear diary, it can be found at Indeterminacy_vs_Discontinuity. Happy reading. I'm going to go exercise my body instead of my brain right now. Maybe that new theory of time will help me with my own time space continuum conundrum - mass times the speed of light equals energy - where has all mine gone?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats