Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 p.m. - 2003-08-09
Babies
A day for babies today. My oldest son arrived with his two young ones in tow not long after lunch. We discretely closed the door to Miss Kitty's nursery. My grandbabies are well behaved, but they are also still only near two and three years old. Visiting Nana's home is already quite exciting enough for them. Between resident uncles, a roomful of Dad's old toys and books, Nana's dolls and knick knacks, videos and treats, they have a lot to occupy them. Besides, Miss Kitty will let my youngest and I play with her babies, but she watches us like a hawk. She's very vocal if she thinks we're not behaving appropriately. I don't think she'd cope well with three extra bodies in the nursery yet.

The favored videos for today were Ichabod Crane and Mr Toad - the Disney version, and Muppet Treasure Island. My grandson discovered the croquet set and wanted lessons from number four son. We had to emphasize it was a game for outside. Ditto for the golf equipment. My Dad gave my Mom's golf clubs to me (I still haven't been out on a course) and number four son has his own set. My granddaughter wanted to play with those. Number one son decided to cook supper for everyone tonight - his rendition of gourmet meat sauce over fettuccine. It was good. Number six son's task was to get to the stores to pick up the videos and extras we like to have on hand when the babies come. He also looked after desserts. My job was cleanup. Clean up toys, clean three sinks full of dishes - yes he did use everyone pot - and clean up the babies. The floors can wait until tomorrow. Fair game. My grandbabies are becoming quite articulate. I'm hoping I can sneak in reading a few pages of "The Hobbit" to them soon. It's time.

Miss Kitty's babies are at a similar stage. Two of them will waddle (they're not quite steady on their feet yet) toward us mewing, wanting to be picked up as soon as we appear. It is important to remember protocol at this point. First we give little momma her due homage and attention - then we can play with the babies. Two of the babies have tried climbing up one of my legs - claws like needles - to be sure they get their fair share of attention. One little guy likes to nuzzle my neck then proceeds to purr and nibble my ear - how can you resist that? A couple of the little guys are strong enough to chase after some of the toys/balls that are their Mom's and one can already scale low furniture. There is a mirror at floor height that all of them are enamoured with and they all fight to climb into momma's sleeping basket. Depends on her mood whether she'll let them or not. I can't really afford to keep them all, but I don't know how I'm going to be able to let any of them go to other homes. Guess I'll deal with that when the time comes. I've always wanted to live on a large piece of land with a small home (those English romance novels you know) so that I could have a big herb and flower garden and cats. Don't think that'll happen anytime soon, but for now I can pretend - right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats