Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:10 a.m. - 2003-08-01
Wings of a Dove
I went to a workshop on new Federal and Provincial legislation with respect to corporate responsibilities in maintaining their records. Privacy of information about individuals, whether employees or clients, as well as culpability with respect to retention issues - you know Enron et al. The presenter referenced his most recent assignments for examples. That's what made his presentation fascinating. Troubleshooting and investigative work both. His assessment of trends in the future? He cited THE wild card as the US government's new legislation that disregards their citizens'right to privacy. Some discussion with respect to electronically maintained records too. Found this article on an effort of the BBC to preserve the Domesday Book electronically, Domesday, that outlined a lot of the challenges. Another on copyright and the issue of theft as it pertains to downloading songs from share folders TheRegister, that was at the back of my mind as I listened to the discussion.

Went for an interview with two of the western managers of the company the presenter works for, about four hours later. Did those interviewers respect the guidelines articulated in the workshop? No they did not. Asked for a lot of personal information, including health data and work issues at past employers offices that they are not allowed to collect. Some of the answers would have breached confidentiality requirements. Was it a test? I hate feeling manipulated - no trust means little chance of a good working relationship.

The discussion about my skill sets went well from my point of view, but I'm not all that comfortable with the ending. It was similar to the job offer I received in late January. Demands for major concessions in wages and a commitment to sever other relationships completely that would be detrimental to me, without indicating any willingness to make any concessions on their part. Start out any type of relationship on such an uneven playing field, and it isn't likely to improve. There's already a lack of respect for you being demonstrated. That being said, I can't afford not to be working for long. Have to think that over carefully - and keep sending out resumes.

In between the two, I ran errands and shopped - sales on summer gear made a pair of sandals and a skirt marked down about five times each very enticing. Saw my chiropractor - what relief! Picked up my discman, hopefully repaired this time, only 3 months after it broke. Odds and ends gathered from the drugstore. Grabbed some more of the herbal medicine I use for asthma. Window shopped the rest of the time.

While I was in the recruiter's office, on the 42 floor, I could see less than a mile to the south because of the forest fires. Thick smoke for days on end and no safe meds, was taking a little more risk than is reasonable. No end in sight either. There was a solitary falcon dancing on the wind not far from the office window. Fascinating - the grace in the bird's use of the air currents as its' dance partner. Much different from the scene on the city plaza as the train went by, first thing this morning. One magpie staked out on the sidewalk,it's mate above and behind one poor man, scolding and herding him away from their territory. Maybe there's a message in the birds' behaviour at the beginning of the day as compared to that of the solo performer at the end of the day for me. Don't know.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats