Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:01 a.m. - 2003-07-30
Changing Gears
Slippery when wet. That's my sign right now. Just finished my regular exercises, but it's so hot and muggy that I'm still dripping. Not a pretty sight or scent, for that matter. Forest fires have basically taken over ths southern part of our province and we are ringed by more fires from Montana and British Columbia. It's hard to decide whether to leave the doors and windows open at night to cool off the house or to shut everything up so that the air is breathable.

There is now basically a fire ban from here to the US border. The provincial government has just closed most campgrounds too. Tough call with a long weekend coming up - Heritage Day in Canada is the first Monday in August - but evacuation of a lot of small communities has already begun. There are also closures pending for oil and gas facilities in the most threatened areas. There aren't enough firefighters to look after thousands of partying campers in addition to everything else.

Busy day today communication wise. First up this morning a call from the interviewer I met at the beginning of the month. Could I stay an extra few hours downtown on the day of the workshop to meet a couple of his clients. I'd love to, but I'm still on call for the contract I have. I had e-mailed my contact about the seminar a week ago asking for permission to be unavailable that day, but hadn't had a response. I don't think it's right to leave a client short on service but I think they need to be reasonable too. I let the recruiter know the situation and started the process of trying to track down my liaison by e-mail. Got a response a couple of hours later saying fine but could I be available that evening then. Fine.

Just got that settled when my Dad called. He had the truck and a couple of hours to spare. Could he and my number three son come by to take a load of stuff to the dump for me? So what's the question. One thing about not having a vehicle, is the limitation it puts on dealing with large or heavy loads. My home is quite small and has housed six young men through their growing years. Most of them have started their own journeys as adults, but they left a lot of their "treasures" behind. Problem is I have no room to store anything. Means even cleaning becomes an issue, when all I can really do is shift piles of stuff from one side of a room to another. It hasn't got to the point where I store things in the oven but just about. It didn't take long to fill up the truck with old furniture and mysterious "building projects". I think it will give me just enough purchase to set my youngest son's room up just for his own use and leave the spare room upstairs free for me. Once Miss Kitty doesn't need it for a nursery that is. I'm not certain computers, shelves of books, and Kitty litter mix.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats