Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:34 a.m. - 2003-07-29
Roominations
Things happen a certain way for a reason - right? Usually when I say that it's because I don't like something about the circumstances I'm dealing with. This is one time I really feel good about how things are unfolding - what's up with that? Makes me nervous.

Let's see then. I'm enjoying the work I'm doing. A lot of the information is new to me = brain candy - but I'm familiar with enough of the background to be able to figure out what's going on. I basically get to choose my own hours and I don't have to commute everyday. I'm treated with respect when ever anyone communicates with me. The process being undertaken to build a group document and edit it is really cool. I'm gaining a whole new set of skills. The only downside is that it isn't fulltime hours and I'm not being paid as much as usual. The lower pay I consider a tuition fee. If I could figure out a way to cover my bills and get ahead a bit, I'd think it was the best of all possible worlds.

The only things I miss right now are the challenges my supervisor A always had for me, mentally and administratively. I grew a lot from what he had to teach me. Bet he doesn't miss the grey hair I gave him though. Maybe a break was necessary for a good reason. Who knows.

Anyway, no work today so I spent it moving through a number of websites devoted to debate on astrophysics and quantum theory - more brain candy. Later in the day I worked more with alternate or complementary medicine publications. My brain had been complaining for some time that I haven't been giving it a proper workout - you know that sluggish, wading through molasses feeling - so now I have the time to stretch it a bit. It isn't that what I do at work isn't challenging, but it only makes certain areas of the brain active and it feels lop-sided. There has to be balance in mental gymnastics just as there should be with physical exercises. I also can't allow my focus to just be work related - that's just too unhealthy.

Next task is to do a little more work on the home front with my guys and Miss Kitty and her babies. I've wanted to rearrange and reorganize the house for a while. I find it very difficult to function physically in the heat we've had, especially with the pollution index so high, but I'll just have to find a way around that, I guess. I should be completing some of the election work too, but I'm still waiting for a response on the rental of the office space I looked at last week. Everything else kind of hangs on that.

So, I don't really know what this nice little hiatus is for, but I guess I've earned it and I think I'll just enjoy the moments as they arise. I can't remember the last time I felt this relaxed. Blessings and gratitude both.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats