Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:09 a.m. - 2003-07-20
Ex-tension
I was listening to the news tonight, back to the tv. I don't need to see the visuals - just the facts ma'am. So maybe it was because I didn't see facial expressions, but it sounded as thought the three anchors were sniping at each other. I've seen a dispute erupt once before on air, but it isn't what one expects. Worse - this was personal verbal shots. Could just be the news was making them cranky I guess. The traveling Bush and Blair show - death of a sacrificial lamb or ten, BSE (mad cow disease)troubles, several athletes whining about how they weren't properly valued or understood, and incredibly thoughtless choices by people causing someone else's death. Come to think of it all that makes me crabby too.

Called number three son to set up a time to celebrate his 22 birthday, officially this Thursday. He just got his driver's licence, but like a lot of new drivers these days he can't afford the costs involved. Right now, even with a discount for taking driver training, insurance rates for a male his age comes in around $5000 per year. Used to be the cost of gas and car maintenance that was the problem, but not any more. Moreover, there have been reports that insurance companies are charging parents with young adults still living at home the rates set for the younger adult even though the parent hasn't registered them as a driver in their household. The insurance companies insist they have the right to charge for a service they aren't asked to supply, because the opportunity exists for the child to drive by the vehicle being maintained on the property. In some cases young adults have felt it necessary to move out of the family home because of the financial hardship it was causing their family. One young male said his insurance company then tried to charge his roommate the fees instead. Words escape me - well not really, but I can't print them in a family diary now can I? I think it's about time that insurance companies were disbanded. Discrimination based on age, gender or place of residence are illegal under our country's laws and so are theft, fraud, and extortion - corporations should not be exempt from that.

Quiet day otherwise - just housework, exercise and reading. Playing with Miss Kitty and her babies. The muscles in my face are starting to release - I hadn't realized how much tension was being held there until this last assignment ended. Got to go now though - there's a Gilbert and Sullivan performance on the tv and I do want to see these visuals.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats