Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:55 a.m. - 2003-07-17
Food for Thought
Yesterday I was talking, via e-mail, with my new co-worker for this project. The company she works for was taken over by the company I work for in late April. One of her messages contained the address of her office. It's in the heart of the community I serve for elections. On a whim, I asked her if she'd noticed any new buildings up for lease. Her response was that,in fact, her building had the main floor empty and it was still under lease to the company that now is merged with ours. I asked her for a contact name so I could enquire about a sublease. Turns out it's the owner of the company I began with two and a half years ago. He hasn't got back to me directly, but the response was enthusiastic. My guess is that he's checking with the landlord or their lawyer about the legal technicalities around subleases. Some landlords are ok with them, while others won't allow it. Hope we can work something out.

Received my paycheque in the mail today, complete with separation slip from the company I work for. I guess the accountant wanted all the paperwork for the government completed right away this time. They will be responsible for paying me for this assignment too, so I guess they'll reinstate me into their system shortly. I don't care as long as the paycheques are regular.

Interesting e-newsletters today. One on a course on remote viewing from a US military expert. Offered through Deepak Chopra's organization, www.chopra.com. Years ago, those of us who studied Eastern faith systems learned of it as astral projection. It was considered to be either a sign of a mental imbalance or a sign of evil intent by the majority of people in our community. Now because the military values it, instead of just us "new age" types, it has the cachet of respectibility. Kind of a sad comment on our society when certain ancient spiritual practices are considered loony until they can be employed for acts of aggression isn't it.

The other e-newsletter of note, www.universetoday.com, is now offereing a discussion forum for articles that are featured about space exploration and astrophysics. I'm following a discussion about some of the most recent thoughts on black holes and their nature and one about gravity and magnetism. Fascinating.

Miss Kitty and her babies are doing well. All five kittens appear healthy and active. Miss Kitty got lots of extra cuddling today - she was tired and hungry from all the excitement yesterday. Her babies are keeping her very tied down and she was expressing frustration with being so wrapped up with their needs. That said, she's doing a very good job looking after them.

Heard from one of the other Returning Officers in our city this evening. Just touching base, he was. Trying to figure out what's going on down east. We rarely get told much and asking is an exercise in futility. Swapped stories on some of the oddball incidents and conditions we've had to deal with. He said one of the stangest staff incidents he had to deal with was two people sent to look after one polling station. Apparently the male and female found each other very compatible and so, when they became bored with the slow voter turn out, they found - ahem - other activities to amuse themselves with. Not even requests from their supervisor nor the principal of the school where they were working was enough to pry them apart. The young man was sent home in the afternoon. What is it about elections that brings out such strange reactions? It's good to be able to talk with someone who understands the import of what we deal with on a day to day basis.

Shortly after, my number three son's friend who lives on the west coast called. He likes to tell me stories about his experiences. He has spent the past year or so working in a strip joint. His story tonight was sort of an extension in some ways of the story told by my fellow election supervisor. Only considerably more detailed and personal. Quite honestly, if the story was being told by a male my own age, I think I would have likely changed the subject to something considerably less risque. I must admit, though, I'm a bit bemused that all the youngsters I helped as a volunteer in my sons' classrooms are old enough to have stories like that to offer. I just asked him if he'd remembered to use protection and left it there. Well once a mom always a mom you know. Sort of a day of fertile thoughts one might say. Finished off the night with stair climbing and weight training. Time for bed and sleep I think.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats