Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:30 a.m. - 2003-07-14
Travail
Very busy day today. My oldest son called last night and asked if he could bring the grandbabies for a visit. Sure thing, but the cupboard was bare. First task this morning was grocery shopping. It took about 90 minutes. Stand up comic at the checkout - 18 year old male, his helper was a new young lass from our east coast - same age as him. I think he was trying to impress her. There is no work in eastern Canada right now, the mines are closed and so are the fisheries. Unemployment is the norm there. Tough to have to try to make a go of it when you're so young and far away from home - the young ones from the Atlantic provinces have my greatest respect for trying.

The grandbabies were waiting at the door for me - or their treats - when I got back. We unpacked and I fed everyone at the same time. Played with the babies for a couple of hours. Another good thumping thunderstorm to ooh and ahhh over. Giants bowling right? Lightning knocked out the lights and computer, but only briefly and no harm was done. Tornado warnings for the second day in a row for areas further north. Anniversary for one devastating one three years ago coming up tomorrow. Makes people uneasy. Had a quick nap.

My Dad came by at 5 to pick me up. We decided to celebrate my brother's 40th birthday today. His choice was the Taj Mahal restaurant - his favorite. I love East Indian food too, the rest of the family was trying it for the first time - that in itself was entertaining. Tantric murals and carvings on the walls made the atmosphere quite unique - still with that theme popping up. I'm not certain some of my sibs knew what to make of it. On each of our 40ths', the family had assembled a collection of 40 items of some form of significance to those years. My brother, being the youngest, and only male, of the crew knew he was in for a rough ride. The "gifts" were opened over about an hour with much laughter. My brothers in law were - um well - rude and crude, but they had a fair amount of help from some of the things my Dad and sisters had collected. For example, my Dad's neighbour is a nurse and she provided "medical aids" for midlife. I'm certain, dear diary, that you can fill in the rest. Golf and cooking were other major themes.

Came home and there were two more e-mails from my new boss. He may spend weekends at the lake, but about the only thing that seems to be different for him is the view - from mountains out of his office window to lakeside at his cabin. Same computer set up. However, he seems to love what he does and I guess that's the best kind of career - follow your bliss. Did some more election work too - about four hours' worth. Well working at home doubles productivity - right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats