Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 p.m. - 2003-07-10
Candid Camera
Well, today was unique. Got a call from the lady who called yesterday about work. They had decided to hire me sight unseen. Call to come from the owner, about meeting to discuss details. That came just before I left to see my chiropractor about the two day migraine I've had. Mostly related to our weird weather right now but every bit of help is appreciated. It would be nice to move my head without feeling like it was going to fall off and roll under a table.

Got on the train and shortly after everyone was looking to see where the candid camera was planted. A very big, very loud, very outgoing woman got on. She approached a gentleman of the aboriginal persuasion and loudly declared that he looked like a tourist - he need western duds. So she took off some of her decorative clothing and put it on him. Started serenading him with her own unique version of "This Land is Your Land". Turned to three British tourists and asked them about Prince William - was he still an eligible bachelor. Was he a good date. Talked about the differences between the London and Paris undergrounds as well as our local transit system. Told them she was feeling great because she'd just been discharged from the psychiatric ward. None of us were certain whethter she was joking or not. The performance continued right into the core of downtown.

I was a little early for my doctor appointment so I popped into a boutique that had a sale on every kind of bag you could think of, thinking I'd replace my backpack. It had somehow ended up with huge holes in two of the bottom corners while I worked at my last assignment and I was worried it was losing things from there. Ended up with a multi-purpose carry on bag instead. Don't know why, because I don't plan to be travelling by air anytime soon, but my intuition wouldn't let up that that was the one I needed. Doesn't matter - they were all the same price and much less expensive than usual.

My chiropractor was in his western duds - he's lost a lot of weight, too much maybe. I think the last few months (year) have really taken a toll on him. Much as I appreciate him always being available I hope he's planning to take some vacation time for himself. Even if all he does is veg out with his family it will at least give him some stress free time.

The work meeting went fine - I think. Communication problems between him and the lady that originally called and my supervisor over the scope of work and who would be pulling together the contract. I think because everything is happening very fast on this legal issue and each person thinks that everyone else is thinking the same thing - they're not. Don't care really, the works sounds really interesting AND I get to do it from home, - telecommuting! Bonus.

Got home and called the woman I used to ride into work with. She works in the justice department and I wanted to ask a technical question before I got too deep into this new assignment. She came by for coffee after dinner and we talked for about four hours. Even got around to that technical question for a brief moment. Nose to the grindstone tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats