Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:06 a.m. - 2003-07-10
under construction
Got a call early this morning from a very upbeat, personable woman, but I don't recall meeting her before. Was I interested in a short term assignment - just to the end of the month. Sure. How's your keyboarding? Never better. When am I not on or near a computer these days. The lady calling had spoken with A, my supervisor, about this rush job that had arisen and he had recommended me. She was acting as a third party looking for someone for a client of hers. She said she'd pass on my name.

She called back to say the client in question had found someone to interview for the task in the interim, but would I be willing to do an interview tomorrow if things didn't pan out. Of course, not only is it paid work, but it is something I haven't done for a while so it would be a chance to brush up some skills and it would be an interesting challenge since it focuses more on the legal side of the industry I work in. Not to wish anyone else ill, but I'm hoping the person interviewed today finds it really doesn't work for them.

I had planned to spend some time today working with my second in command for the election. He received three very big binders of documents with direction from Elections Canada to read everything at the end of June. He is semi-retired and spends his summers out at the lake, but he agreed to come into town for an afternoon so we could just go over where each of us was in our tasks. His car broke down so he spent quite a bit of time at the garage first. We finally met after supper when he'd gotten his car trouble staightened out.

Some days you know you've done a fair amount of work but without knowing whether it will come to fruition and if so in what way. That's kind of how today went. No problem with that I guess, a strong foundation doesn't really show but it's the most important part of any structure. Here's hoping there's a chance to build on both beginnings.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats