Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:10 p.m. - 2003-07-07
Street Scenes
Got a lot accomplished today. Headed downtown at about 10:30 and met one of my youngest son's friends and his mom on the bus. Their phone is constantly busy - internet - so I was able to ask the young guy to get in touch with my guy. They need to be out doing things together rather than being attached to their electronic soothers.

His mom and I chatted about work on the train. She's not happy where she's working so we talked about alternatives. I needed to return the diskman I had taken in for repairs two months ago that just came back a week ago, back for more repairs - it works worse than when I first took it in. She was looking for a new vcr/dvd player so we went together to the store in question. I walked back to her workplace still chatting about work issues with her. She headed up to her floor and I wandered off to chinatown. One of the herbal stores therer has great prices so I stocked up on my regular supplies while I had the time.

Next up met one of the friends I've kept from an assignment I had several years ago. The restaurant we had agreed upon was closed for renovations so we tried a new site out - Escoba. Located downstairs in one of the little trendy malls it was quiet, nicely appointed, the food was fabulous - portobello vegetarian melt with mushroom soup - and the prices were reasonable. Good conversation too. Just about our work and families really, but it's nice to hear things are going well for her. She's being wanting to be a grandmother for some time but it was beginning to look as though her sons weren't all that interested. That's changed radically and both are showing signs of serious nesting. She's thrilled.

Wandered down the mall on the way to City Hall. Five blocks closed off to traffic - for pedestrian use only. At Stampede time it's awash with colour and activity. Today square dancing in one corner, down a bit musicians from Peru and Ecuador, a folk group next, then a proper country and western singer, last up a drumming group from Africa - something for everyone. In between street vendors selling all kinds of wares - jewelry, western tack, wood carvings and metal sculptures, and aboriginal crafts. I was a little startled when one woman a few feet away decided to try out the bull whip she wanted to buy. Whatever. Mostly "cowboy" duds because of the rodeo, but also some serious goth rags, mingled with business suits and mountaineering gear. Eclectic.

Mapping/planning department at city hall is one of my favorite places to visit - they know me and treat me very well. I was allowed to get into their intranet updates so I would have the most recent planning approvals for new streets - another dozen or so on top of what I found when my Dad and I went out this weekend. Got home and called the developers whose numbers I'd found on Saturday too just for good measure. My guys and Miss Kitty just hanging out together when I got home. Good day all around.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats