Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:10 a.m. - 2003-07-01
Cranky
Too hot - that's what today was. Too much heat makes me cranky. Guess I shouldn't complain though. Tornado touched down about 200 miles north of here and there are severe storm warnings in effect for about half of the rest of the province.

The trouble is I meant to get a lot more accomplished today. I promised number two son a black forest cake for his birthday. It's past, but we're celebrating tomorrow on Canada Day - fireworks at the olympic ski hill. It was way too hot to turn on the oven though. I'll get up early tomorrow morning to see if the heat has dissipated enough to bake a cake then. If not, he'll just have to make do with a store bought one. I think I'll take number three son's birthday cake order now - his birthday is July 24 - and make it during the next cool stretch, just in case.

Most homes here don't have air conditioning, because we just don't get enough really hot weather to justify the expense. Coping techniques include heading for a movie theater (they are usually really cold), the mall, the office or school, or the river valley. Sitting in the basement also helps, but it's not really all that exciting and it doesn't help you complete much of your work. Napping through the worst of it appeals too. Siestas make sense don't they.

My friend still in the Middle East e-mailed to say they would be home for two weeks next month - looking forward to that. Last summer she wore her winter coat the day we met for dinner - it was in the low 70's F/20 C that day. My sister e-mailed photos of her oldest son's graduation party. I did more work searches and surfed for information I wanted to track down. Picked up groceries. Nope definitely not a productive day but I guess not every one has to be - right?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats