Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 a.m. - 2003-06-24
Monday, Monday
I had pre-ordered the new Harrry Potter book "Order of the Phoenix" some time ago and picked it up today. It was one of those hurry up and wait days, so I got to enjoy it right away.

My walking partner got held up at lunch, so I stood near the elevators with it in hand, reading. The security guard passed by to check what I was up to and got a big grin on his face when he saw the book. My walking partner had a very upsetting weekend, so we concentrated on her story for our walk. I believe her faith is Hindu. She and her husband had decided to hold a prayer ceremony at her home on Saturday. Now as any female knows, that means significant housework in addition to all the cooking that comes with inviting guests over for something so important. Of course there were the usual glitches, but she managed to get things done to her satisfaction in the end. The priest arrived and wasn't feeling well. He performed the rituals though, then left for home. They got a call, Sunday morning, saying that he had just died from heart failure. Of course my friend is feeling terrible for his family and I think there is a sense of guilt. The what ifs. What if they had made the priest go to a hospital, what if they had cancelled the prayer time and sent him home so that the family could have had a little more time with him. What if, what if ....

Got back to work. The student who shares my phone seemed to be determined to criticize the way we are treated at work and wanted me to join in. I did my best not to get drawn in. Don't need any more problems - or any other reasons for T2 and B pick at me. As it is more and more of my time during the day was dominated by C and B coming and asking me to take on more tasks for them, even though they heard T2's comments on Friday. I also was still being left to work with the youngest summer student - which I am thoroughly enjoying. Our conversation this morning was about our favorite classical music and the new Harry Potter book - he had already finished reading it. Yes he did tell me a bit of the plot but not enough to spoil it.

After lunch, I decided I had better talk to B and explain what was left to be done because of all the added duties. I feel like Cinderella without a fairy Godmother or the benefit of a ball to look forward to, much less a Prince Charming. Actually, given the tension that is evident, the youngest student almost took on a protective role. He took a stand about the paperwork he had sorted on the floor and insisted he had as much right as the others to leave his work out as they did. He's right, of course, but that work is sitting by my desk. Don't really want to think about tomorrow morning. However, only 4 days and counting - right?

I had a doctor's appointment to renew my prescription, so I left a little early. B tried to delay me by giving me another task that had to be completed "right now" because she was "too busy", even though she already knew I had to leave. I just excused myself politely and reminded her that I was already late in leaving. Maybe she just forgot.

The doctor's office was jammed, so even though I had an appointment and was a bit early, I didn't get seen until nearly an hour later. OK by me. Pulled out the Harry Potter book, propped myself against a wall. The seats were full and I didn't really want to sit anyway. People - adults, mind you, and one fellow in particular, kept sidling up to read over my shoulder. As long as they didn't try to turn the pages on me, I thought it was quite entertaining. My doctor is always a gentle man and he took the time necessary to look after me even though he must have been running flat out most of the day.

On the bus on the way home, two gentlemen, fairly new to the country from the Caribbean, talking about their experiences here so far, trying to figure out the rules. Couldn't really tell which Island was their country of origin, but I know it wasn't Trinidad. They were discussing it just as a Calgarian would talk about Edmonton our rival - excuse me - sister city in Northern Alberta. A young lad - maybe 10 or 11 - deeply asleep with that pink cheeks, angelic look that only strawberry redheads seem to get when sleeping. I woke him as gently as I could, just before my stop, so he wouldn't miss his stop. Not certain if he would stay conscious long enough to get there. Poor guy.

It was 7 pm before I walked in the door. Chicken wings, salad, and chicken pies for supper. Definitely not homemade, but I was too tired to start cooking then. Don't think it mattered though. My youngest grabbed the Harry Potter book and said he could be found in his room should anyone want him - as in don't bother. His brother - the one with the sprained ankle - was out for football practice. His foot was sore when he came home so he just cratered in his room for a while. Ahhh family life.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats