Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:10 p.m. - 2003-06-21
What matters
Buckets of rain cascading down when I was waiting for the bus just after 6 in the am yesterday. I noticed a man about half a block away walking toward me - not one of the regulars. I was distracted from observing him (safety first) when a police van did a 180 and zipped down the street I had just emerged from it's lights all flashing but no siren (generally means - crime in progress, don't scare the bad guys away and spoil our chances).

I was debating whether to go back and check to see if my guys were safe when the man I had forgotten came up to me, soaked to the skin. "Have you seen a little old lady out here this Morning?" "No, what does she look like?" "Well, she's my Mom, she's 81 years old, she has dementia and she's been missing since midnight last night."

Another police vehicle - a supervisors' hmv zips by lights flashing, no siren, then a police car comes from another direction zipping toward the same location.

The man, who looks a lot like Kenny Rogers and who has been a neighbour one block over for quite some time and I watch and then his cell phone rings. Stress makes his hand shake as he answers. Brief conversationa as I wait to hear the news too. He says "They've found her and they'r bringing her home". I ask if she's ok and he says he doesn't know as he heads in the same direction as the police cars. I take comfort in the phrase they're taking her home and hope things work out for the best.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats