Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:55 a.m. - 2003-06-12
Survivors
There were a bunch of very nice e-mails waiting for me when I got home tonight. Just notes back and forth from the group I went out with last night. Funny isn't it. Sometimes, things just fall into place so easily. The planning and preparation that was required to get everyone together was minimal, but the benefits were huge. Lots of stories about "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger". Lots of the unexpected, better than any mystery. A girl who never took an art lesson becomes a recognized painter; a girl who skipped most of her math classes now teaches some of the most technically challenging courses for this discipline and loves every minute. One of the most easy going becomes one tough enforcement official. No one took the easy way out either - they all faced whatever hit them head on and dealt with it. No drugs, no booze, no blaming someone else or demanding the rest of the community bail them out. Survivors - real ones.

Got an e-mail from one of my friends who has traveled to Egypt (I know a few who have) with some suggestions and ideas for me. More research required. A package srrived from Elections Canada with an analysis of some processes that have developed technologically. I was recruited in the first wave of automating the voting procedure, because I was seen as someone willing to take risks without being too afraid of failure (I think that is a kind description of a slow learner, but that's another day's entry)so I've had a front row seat to watch the careful evolution of an automated vote. It will come.

A quieter day at work. T2's on holidays again; four weeks so far since I started - or over a week a month. However, stress levels have dropped so I guess that's a good thing. Even C was happier today. D just found out I wasn't going to be there past the end of the month - I think he was quite surprised. He asked where I would be going next, but I don't know that so I can't say. A said he was working on something, but at the speed negotiations move that can't be counted on, so I'm still sending out resumes when I see things I really would like to try. I can always try the temp route for a while too. That's how I started when the boys' Dad left and it has led me down some interesting paths. Some of what I've done doesn't appear in any course guide or career listing there is. Staying flexible and open to trying what most people wouldn't consider helps. We'll see.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats