Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:59 a.m. - 2003-06-11
Meetings and Minds
First thing at work today I was asked by B about two of the students' work habits and personal conduct. They've been with the group for a month. Now first of all, I've never been given any information on their assignments other than what the two of them chose to tell me nor have I been asked or directed to supervise them. So why would anyone ask me why they were engaging in certain behaviours now, as if it was my responsibility to chastise them. Second the questions about specific behaviours were not ones I wanted to respond to. Why? Well, because the behaviours being condemned are ones I see B,C,C2,D and T2 engage in every day with frequency. Things like talking on the phone about personal matters and taking excessive breaks. I was asked if one student had taken a break yesterday and actually read a book. Yes, they took a 15 minute coffee break, which they are entitled to by law, for every 4 hours worked. This from someone who shortly after spent 20 minutes talking with C and D about their pets' cute behaviour. If you don't want the students doing something then don't do it yourself.

Had a meeting with B and C about this project today too. C has been angry ever since I came back to work. Don't care really, I just stay out of her way. Tough to do in a meeting though. I had brought in a lot of examples of problems I was finding to do with coding- they need to be dealt with by the database manager. C acted put off about that. I'm doing my job, deal with it. Cranky I know.

B described some of the activities they had been required to do at the exercise on Friday. She said she constantly felt isolated from the rest of the group. She has a problem with her back and couldn't always participate fully. I wonder if the team leaders were trying to relay some information through those exercises. I wonder if any of the group caught on that their behaviour was being reflected back to them. B seemed to at times, as she addressed me a lot over the day and worked at including me in things. C just continued to show anger. Maybe there's something else going on. Don't know.

Went to a girl's night out tonight with some of the women I reconnected with at my high school reunion - about 8 were able to make it. Catching up on a couple of decades of their lives was instructive. Reminded me what was really important. We agreed to set another group time for September and to keep up the chatter by e-mail or in smaller get togethers. Lots of questions that need a little research before answering. Where is so and so , how is that family doing, those kinds of things. A job is just that, friends and family are what matter in the end. Good way to end the day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats