Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:45 a.m. - 2003-06-08
Dreamscapes
Another bemusing dream this morning.

First a dark night. Feels like a mountain road just outside a settled area. No moon, no street lights. A sense of hurry. I'm the passenger in a car, the ones that have a back seat with a fold down like a station wagon, only that's not quite right - the back door lifts up. The vehicle is being driven by a male who seems to be quite edgy. I can't really see his features. We had emerged from a home that was on a dark quiet street; the intent seemed to be to drive to another small settlement about 20 miles away to leave his daughter in his friends' care. In the back two car seats, one with the baby apparently sound asleep. Between the two settlements, on this mountain road, the man suddenly yells, turns around after using a switch to open the back door, and pushes both car seats out, while we start travelling at an even higher speed. I sit there in shock until I see one of the car seats - the one with the "baby" - explode. There was no baby - it had been a bomb.

Some time later the scene plays out over the period of a day. Dull, cloudy with that light that tells you that it likely high summer, just before a big thunderstorm. We are in the alpine town we were headed for in the first vignette. It seems to be quite some time after the initial event. We are going door to door searching for the man's lost daughter. He knows she is here and he knows who has her, but they don't want to give her back to him. It was a kidnapping. We finally spot the woman who stole the child and likely had the bomb planted. Maybe his ex-wife. She is pushing two strollers with two little girls - obviously sisters. The tiny one with the dark hair and eyes is his child. The other is the woman's from another marriage. They argue.

At that point, the scene changes and I find myself in the role of a narrator/reporter. There is a camera crew and a big unit like a semi with myself and, I think, the same male. I'm not certain because I never really did get a good look at him in the first two scenes. He seems to be the director and is doing a documentary as a promotional, on the river where we are standing. I don't recognize the place, but I hear John Denver's voice singing a song about Vail, Colorado. The terrain is like a high mountain plain and it seems the commentary I'm supposed to deliver is about the pristine, unspoiled nature of this beautiful river and the surrounding land. At this point I seem to be slipping between two realities.

My Dad, on one of our drives was talking about an area of Colorado that he and my Mom had visited. He said that there is now a popular TV series that is supposed to be set in that area, but is actually filmed in the area around Canmore and Banff just about 60 miles from Calgary. That seems to be the two dimensions I am caught between, in this part of the dream. The pristine scene is actually the one here near Calgary.

I find myself suspended high above the river in Colorado with a man showing me some dangerous substance lying on the riverbottom there. When the man who is the director leaves, the crew and I do the research necessary and do an expose with the help of the man who showed me the problems. The river in Colorado has become so toxic that it is poisoning people downstream. Whoever has been dumping the chemicals, is very powerful and has been silencing anyone who raises their concerns. I suddenly find myself in the scene at the end of the movie "Thunderheart" where Maggie is found murdered in the uranium pits secretly dug out in the foothills on the reserve, but I think that was set in the Dakotas somewhere, because it involved the Sioux tribe. It seems that I am being told I will suffer the same fate.

Then the dream shifts and I find that I am the one who has been kidnapped. Now we are in the desert but it seems that it is in the Middle East. I don't know any of the people, male or female, who have abducted me but I am really afraid. There is a chase and I am finally rescued. It appears it is just in time, so that I can attend the wedding of one my cousins - still set in an Arabic country.

I'm shown to a bedroom that has my clothes set aside and I start to rush trying to get dressed, because I know that the ceremony should have started half an hour ago. The bride's mom walks into the room and I start apologizing - a little teary, I think - for spoiling everyone's day. The mom says it's ok and asks if I would mind standing in for the Maid of Honour who has suddenly taken ill. I say ok and she hands one of the most beautiful dresses I have ever seen. I'm a little afraid though because it is an exotic deep red made of silk and tulle with an Eastern styling. It is made to fit the figure like a second skin - a lot more dramatic than anything I've worn for years. I look down and realize I have my old figure back and can wear it well.

The ceremony is in a cathedral but then moves into a very large tent. After dinner, the bride and groom start to dance and I am told that I must join them on the dance floor with the Best Man as my partner. I hadn't had a chance to see or talk with him until then. I look up and find myself drawn in and embraced completely by the depths in his dark, brown eyes. Drowning and wanting it to remain that way. Then the dreamer wakes up and says "are you nuts!" and I wake up.

Wouldn't you just know it. I stay asleep and dreaming through all the scary stuff - not restful at all - and then just when it looks like I might have something good happen I get pulled out into reality again. Guess I am nuts.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats