Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:23 p.m. - 2003-05-29
Rumi-nations
Happy 100th Birthday Bob Hope - thanks for being there all these years. If he had lived, John Kennedy would be 85 today. Where does the time go?

There's a solar eclipse tomorrow - 8:46 PM EST to 1:30 AM, May 31, peak at 11:00 PM - for your viewing pleasure. It will occur at 9 degrees of Gemini, activating communication issues in whatever part of your astrological chart that resides. The Sabian symbol for that degree is "A quiver filled with arrows". Guess that could mean a lot of choices now become available but only as potential. A target must be selected, an arrow nocked to the bow and the physical act that is archery must occur. Zen. In my birth chart that degree is in my 6th house of health and daily routines. Pets too. In my chart for this year, it is in the third house which deals with short journeys, communication of all kinds and our relationships with siblings and people in the community. In a standardized Aquarius sun sign chart it falls in the fith house of creativity, hobbies, children and good fortune. I'll have to think on the targets (goals) and arrows (methods)that are most important to me now and then try to make certain I carry through with those aims.

I'm not finding it difficult to fill my time while waiting for the work thing to settle out. A still hasn't called today, but T2, like the last liaison, refuses to return his calls as part of her "negotiations". The last liaison was also in the habit of showing up for meetings well past the time they had been scheduled - even those set weeks in advance - or would not show up at all. Just rude.

Part of the day I still just rest, still no energy coming back. But at least while I rest, I'm reading all the books that I've had to set aside. My brain is being treated to a real feast. When I was reading the poet Rumi (b 1207) last night, I found that a few traditional Afghani recipes had been included. One is for pepper soup. I have to wait for A to call this afternoon, so I'll do my yoga, read a little more, then head for the grocery store to pick up the ingredients.

Why? Well it looks like it might really fire up the metabolism and I need the help right now. My chiropractor made a comment about the fact that I should have lost more weight with the reactions I've had to the drugs lately, but my body goes into "starvation" mode when I'm ill - fights to keep all the extra "fuel" it can. I've lost weight in a lot of places, but the tummy still has to go. What's in the soup - Rassum? Chili peppers,onions, garlic, tamarind paste, lots of tomatoes, cayenne and black pepper, mustard seeds, cinnamon, cloves, coriander, cumin, fennel, fenugreek, ginger and turmeric. Between the miso soup for nourishment and this one, maybe I can get my body back on track. Oh yeah, that's part of the eclipse thing isn't it.

Quotes from Rumi

""This wind is the Holy Spirit.

The trees are Mary.

Watch how husband and wife play

subtle games with their hands. "

"Don't let your throat tighten with fear.

Take sips of breath all day and night,

Before death closes your mouth."

"Who sees inside from outside?

Who finds hundreds of mysteries

even where minds are deranged?

See through his eyes what he sees.

Who then is looking out from his eyes?"

"The minute I heard my first love story

I started looking for you, not knowing

how blind that was.

Lovers don't finally meet somewhere.

They're in each other all along."

"In your light I learn how to love.

In your beauty how to make poems.

You dance inside my chest,

where no one sees you,

but sometimes I do,

and that becomes this art."

"If the beloved is everywhere,

the lover is a veil,

but when living itself becomes

the Friend, lovers disappear."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats