Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:45 a.m. - 2003-05-22
Communication
I started reading the "Treasury of Ribaldry" I picked up yesterday. My favorite story so far, comes from the excerpts provided from Aristophane's play "Lysistrata" which is about a Greek wife who organizes a nation wide boycott among the women. They all agree to abstain from sex, while doing everything in their power to remain alluring to their spouses or lovers, until the men agree to stop their warring.

Of the "ancient" epigrams, I think I like "To a Pompous Censor" by Palladas best.

"Scornful of love, intolerably august,

Remember,when cold dignity is dust,

Your origin - be thankful, man - was lust."

The Roman writer, Ovid, is next up.

There's another health scare in the news right now - still waiting to see if it's justified. The problem with the media sometimes, is that when it's a slow news period everything gets talked over and around until there is just too much speculation to dig out the facts. Wait and see I guess.

Very disturbing call from my supervisor today. I'm still mulling it over. I've noted before that I feel like a mouse with a cat or two sitting at the entrance to the mousehole just waiting to pounce over any slip up at work. So far I've managed to defuse whatever has been tossed my way in the past four months. I don't know how much more energy I want to invest in that. This contract is set to end in June and I've sent out a few resumes. I think I'll continue with that. I'm tired of worrying every time I do or say something that it might become another point of attack.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats