Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 a.m. - 2003-05-21
Books and Music
Went to work today. One problem after another. Confidential material vanishes into thin air. The person who brought it down to be catalogued was very upset and rightfully so. B was absent and had been working on it so we couldn't even ask if she had put it someplace for safe keeping. Another case of two records with the same coding - means one record - the one I was trying to work with had made a virtual disappearance in cyberspace Also meant that the missing material from the file couldn't be verified so "who knows where the shadow goes?"

Apparently, too B didn't like some cataloguing (as conveyed by D in her absence)I completed for her on Thursday. Now in context, the data was in a language that I don't have much technical knowledge and the conversational dictionary - the one I brought in from home because there isn't a reference at work - didn't have the terms I needed In addition, I was given a deadline of one hour to translate, then catalogue everything in detail, then create the files and then label everything when two hours should have been assigned. You've seen the poster "You're failure to plan is not my emergency"? I'm not even supposed to be working on the material in question. The problem? The cataloguing was great, but said files didn't look as pretty as she had expected. Fine.

On the plus side, I was able to get my bank card replaced during my lunch break - only required about half of the hour to do it too. Nice staff at this branch, very attentive and polite. Took out some cash and headed for the second hand bookstore to celebrate Ended up with the complete works of Lewis Carroll at my youngest son's request. Pretty fascinating too. Said author not only wrote Alice in Wonderland and sequels, but he was also a college math professor. Some of his puzzles and games, as well as some of his non-fiction work, are quite learned and academic. We'll get this child through his high school courses by stealth if we have to.

For me? One text by Fr Pierre Teilhard de Chardin - The Phenomenon of Man - that I had been looking for, a graphologists' text, and "A Treasury of Ribaldry". An anthology from some of the greatest Western writers, starting with the Greeks. It is funny. I always enjoyed reading Chaucer and Shakespeare, partly because of their way with words around those topics. No one could understand why I found Henry IV so funny -in one word? Falstaff, Shakespeare's pre-eminent clown and voluptuary supreme.

Music today, courtesy of son number four who lent me both discman and disc. Music from the rap group Great Depression. Very good, although I must admit anyone watching me listen might have seen me wince a few times. Sometimes, overlooking the "language" used is necessary to hear what the musicians are trying to say. I suspect I probably should have had a dictionary of "Rap" to help, because I likely missed some salient material, but I think I got the gist. What I liked about their lyrics was that very strong emotions were expressed in very clear words. No softening what they felt, but it wasnt' assaultive, just assertive. Kind of like the technique of "fair fighting" that one would employ in one's own relationships. Say what you feel and what you mean, but don't attack or blame the other person. Lay it on the line, but explain why, in the context of your own experiences, values and character it causes those emotions.

As I've mentioned before, I often audit my sons CDs as part of my parenting - generates some very productive discussions. The ones we have around rap music tend to explore this area of relationships a lot. Take out the factor of how something is conveyed by choice of language (lost count of the "F" word before the end of the first song and that was one of the least offensive terms) and listen to the message. Hard work sometimes trying to explain why a group like this or DMX are acceptable where others of the same genre aren't. "But mom - he uses less f words by far, than the one you say you like". Yes dear but he's not preaching hate, he's trying to express why something is so hurtful for the people who he sings for - there's a big difference. Even so I didn't sing along to these lyrics - could have sworn a couple of the staff edged by me while I was listening though. Body language.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats